Dear visitors! From June 14 to July 15, according to the passport of the fan of the 2018 FIFA World Cup discount for admission to the museum is 50%.
MULTIMEDIA ART MUSEUM, MOSCOW
MOSCOW HOUSE OF PHOTOGRAPHY
16+
RuEngl

Photographic Essays by Alexander Slyusarev

Alexander Slusarev.
Untitled.
1970th Alexander Slusarev.
Untitled.
1970th

Alexander Slusarev. Untitled. 1970th

Alexander Slusarev. Untitled. 1970th

Moscow, 6.02.2014—23.02.2014

exhibition is over

Share with friends

Opening day photos

For mass-media

Alexander Slusarev (1944-2010) was a translator from Italian by profession. He became interested in photography while still at school and attended a studio run by the magazine Soviet Photo. Slusarev participated in exhibitions from the late 1960s, initially in the Baltic states, then Russia.

His debut as a photographer coincided with the Thaw under Krushchev. In 1957 Moscow staged the International Festival of Youth and Students, bringing a flood of foreign books and magazines into the country, including many about photography. For Slusarev the magazine Camera became one of his most important introductions to the world of photography.

Slusarev’s first photographs in the early 1960s already declared the creation of his own style, fundamentally opposed to the principles of Socialist Realism dominating Soviet photography at that time. His fascination with the formal questions of photography and problems of light and composition determined his creative path, while he also searched for metaphysical content and transcendental origins. It was Slusarev that first devised the term ’metaphysical photography’ in the 1970s. Curiously enough, a school of meta-metaphorical poets with similar aims appeared during the same period (Alexei Parshikov, Ivan Zhdanov, Alexander Yeremenko).

Minimalism, an interest in the disintegrated structures and textures that filled Soviet reality and passed unnoticed by ideologised Soviet man, and extreme intimacy yet philosophical generalisation were the chief characteristics of Alexander Slusarev’s work in the 1960s to late 1970s. Windows, Slusarev’s favourite subject, became a focus of unofficial Soviet photography. Incidentally, these were the years when important artists of the Russian underground such as Erik Bulatov, Ivan Chuikov and Oleg Vasiliev also produced series of compositions related to windows and the problem of escape. In the completely closed Soviet Union, sealed from the outside world by an Iron Curtain, the problem of finding a way out became the major existential issue. For Slusarev the point of egress is light.

In the laconic, minimalist and subtle works of Alexander Slusarev, whatever lies beyond the frame assumes greater importance than the subject actually depicted. For Slusarev photography became an instrument of philosophical reflection and an alternative way of life in a society where everyone spoke an Aesopian language, where meaning was erased by ideological slogans and people saw what they knew.

Olga Sviblova

General information partner

Elle

Strategic information partner

Profile magazine

Information partners

1st Channel Kommersnat FM The Art Newspaper Russia Buro 24/7 Iskusstvo Magazine Foto-Video DI
L’Oeil de la Photographie

Official guide of the "Photobiennale 2014"

Арт-Гид

© Multimedia Complex of Actual Arts, Moscow

All rights reserved, 1997—2018. Credits

Дорогие друзья! Обращаем ваше внимание: начиная с июля 2016, днем бесплатного посещения в МАММ становится каждый третий вторник месяца, вместо воскресенья. Будем рады видеть вас!

RussianEnglish

Фотографические эссе Александра Слюсарева

Александр Слюсарев.
Без названия.
1970-е Александр Слюсарев.
Без названия.
1970-е

Александр Слюсарев. Без названия. 1970-е

Александр Слюсарев. Без названия. 1970-е

Москва, 6.II.2014—23.II.2014

выставка завершилась

Поделиться с друзьями

Фото с вернисажа

Каталог выставки

Десятый Международный месяц фотографии в Москве: Каталог.
М., 2014. – 256 с., 23х30 см
ISBN 978-5-93977-073-6
RUR 550

О выставке

Александр Слюсарев (1944-2010), по профессии переводчик с итальянского языка. Фотографией увлекся еще в школе, посещал студию при журнале «Советское фото». С конца 1960-х участвует в выставках, сначала в Прибалтике, потом — в России.

Его вхождение в фотографию совпадает со временем хрущевской оттепели. В 1957 году в Москве проходит Международный фестиваль молодежи и студентов, в страну хлынули зарубежные книги и журналы, в том числе по фотографии. Журнал «Camera» стал для Слюсарева одним из важнейших проводников в мир фотографии.

Уже первые фотографии Слюсарева начала 1960-х — заявка на создание собственного стиля, принципиально противоположного устоям социалистического реализма, главенствовавшего в то время в советской фотографии. Его интерес к формальным вопросам фотографии, проблемам света, композиции, с одной стороны, определял его творческий путь; с другой стороны, он занимался поисками метафизического содержания и трансцендентного начала. Именно Слюсареву принадлежит термин метафизическая фотография, введенный им в 1970-е годы. Интересно, что и в поэзии в это время появляется школа метафорических поэтов (Алексей Парщиков, Иван Жданов, Александр Еременко), которые ставят перед собой подобные задачи.

Минимализм, интерес к разрушенным фактурам и текстурам, которыми была полна советская действительность и которых не замечал глаз идеологизированного советского человека, предельная интимность и одновременно философское обобщение стали главными особенностями творчества Александра Слюсарева конца 1960-х — начала 1970-х годов. Излюбленным сюжетом Слюсарева, ставшим одним из основных в неофициальной советской фотографии, являются окна. Стоит заметить, что в это же время такие важнейшие художники русского андеграунда как Эрик Булатов, Иван Чуйков, Олег Васильев также создают серии работ, связанных с окнами и проблемой выхода. В абсолютно закрытом, отгороженном от мира железным занавесом Советском Союзе проблема выхода становится важнейшим экзистенциальным вопросом. Выходом для Слюсарева оказывается свет.

В лаконичных, минималистских и изысканных работах Александра Слюсарева то, что за кадром, всегда важнее изображаемого. В обществе, где все говорили на эзоповом языке, где смыслы были затерты идеологическими слоганами, где видели то, что знали, фотография для Слюсарева становится инструментом философской рефлексии и альтернативным способом жизни.

Ольга Свиблова

Генеральный информационный партнер

Elle

Стратегический информационный партнер

Журнал «Профиль»

Информационные партнеры

Первый канал Коммерсант FM The Art Newspaper Russia Buro 24/7 Искусство. Издается с 1933 года Foto-Video Диалог Искусств
L’Oeil de la Photographie

Официальный путеводитель «Фотобиеннале 2014»

Арт-Гид

Будьте в курсе последних событий музея и наших открытий

© Мультимедийный комплекс актуальных искусств, Москва

Все права защищены, 1997—2016. О проекте