Dear visitors! For technical reasons, meeting with the organizers of the «Weeks of Conscience» postponed to  indefinite period. We apologize.

German Titov
FOREST

German Titov.
From the ‘FOREST’ series.
2013 German Titov.
From the ‘FOREST’ series.
2013 German Titov.
From the ‘FOREST’ series.
2013 German Titov.
From the ‘FOREST’ series.
2013 German Titov.
From the ‘FOREST’ series.
2013 German Titov.
From the ‘FOREST’ series.
2013 German Titov.
From the ‘FOREST’ series.
2013 German Titov.
From the ‘FOREST’ series.
2013 German Titov.
From the ‘FOREST’ series.
2013 German Titov.
From the ‘FOREST’ series.
2013 German Titov.
From the ‘FOREST’ series.
2013 German Titov.
From the ‘FOREST’ series.
2013 German Titov.
From the ‘FOREST’ series.
2013 German Titov.
From the ‘FOREST’ series.
2013

German Titov. From the ‘FOREST’ series. 2013

German Titov. From the ‘FOREST’ series. 2013

German Titov. From the ‘FOREST’ series. 2013

German Titov. From the ‘FOREST’ series. 2013

German Titov. From the ‘FOREST’ series. 2013

German Titov. From the ‘FOREST’ series. 2013

German Titov. From the ‘FOREST’ series. 2013

German Titov. From the ‘FOREST’ series. 2013

German Titov. From the ‘FOREST’ series. 2013

German Titov. From the ‘FOREST’ series. 2013

German Titov. From the ‘FOREST’ series. 2013

German Titov. From the ‘FOREST’ series. 2013

German Titov. From the ‘FOREST’ series. 2013

German Titov. From the ‘FOREST’ series. 2013

Moscow, 19.09.2014—19.10.2014

exhibition is over

Share with friends

For mass-media

The Gothic romance appeared as a genre in 18th-century literature. It was characterised as the quest for a place where the everyday would coincide with the transcendental. Usually this is regarded as a terrifying place, for here the strangest and most criminal things could occur. Viscous horror exuded by what at first sight seems ordinary, even vulgar. The rational Age of Enlightenment assigned Gothic fiction an honorary place in the classification table of ‘sublime emotions’. Those that were entirely divorced from any reasonable, logical or ideal cognition of the world and reacted to dissonances or, in the words of Francis Bacon in the 17th century, ‘deviating instances’. It is telling that the Age of Enlightenment explained the nature of these mysterious occurrences that stimulated ‘sublime’ emotions in a wholly rational and even positivist manner. As a strange coincidence of intricate circumstances that could be disentangled using what Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes called the ‘method of deduction’. For this reason the Gothic romance became the predecessor of the modern detective novel with its iron logic governing the rules of the game and the motivation.

But what if the everyday and transcendental were to meet but fail to unravel into the threads of explicable reasons and consequences? Then we should take a deep breath and admit that we have stumbled into the arms of David Lynch, or one of the Beat writers. In a flash the road signs have altered. The equilibrium between common sense and the delight of thrilling and terrifying emotions is disrupted. The road to nowhere looms ahead.

At first acquaintance the artist German Titov appears a very respectable gentleman. In his art, however, he journeys through a territory of insidious horror, where everything is painfully familiar and therefore deeply terrifying. Because under close examination German’s talent shows no evidence of this, there is only an exhalation of uncontrolled alarm that defies verbalisation. Blades of grass in a chilly snow-covered field with a leaden sky above, a car ride to an abandoned house cluttered with decaying refuse and the strange inscription ‘Hello’ scrawled in chalk on the door, the blaze of shrieking car headlights in the nocturnal gloom... These scenes in no way correspond to good old conceptualism as perceived in his ‘Collective Actions’ period. This is something else: a concentration of lonely fear, convulsions of a theme that cannot even be defined. Actions of invisible acts.

The cultural background of such art may lie in the non-linear literature of William Burroughs and Brion Gysin. But not only there. Also in our specific, metaphysical reflections on the progressive modernist project whose ruins are described in Owen Hatherley’s book ‘Militant Modernism’ (2009). In the work of German Titov we often come across the ruins of Soviet architecture and the Soviet way of life from the 1960s to 1970s: tower blocks, abandoned residential buildings on the verge of collapse, dreary corridors illumined by a deathly light, bus stops painted in suprematist colour. As if you had stepped into Tarkovsky’s Zone (in ‘Stalker’), the most significant anti-modernist message of 70s culture. Although somehow contaminated and reduced to ruins, this is still a compulsively alluring place left by an alien civilisation. It contains the Room of Desires, but for many years there have been no desires. The nostalgia for ‘zones’ of this kind took shape in the cyberpunk movement, which is essentially the direct descendant of Beat culture.

There may well be another constituent in the art of German Titov: a conscious appeal by the new generation of artists to silence and irresponsibility. Silent conceptualism seems to have been very eloquent, even garrulous. Constantly juggling vocal and mental constructions, dogma and cliché. That is over now. They grew weary. Today man is captivated by diverse, shameless reams of text, meaning and media images. There is a demand for calm, for self-debasement and faith in the beholder-interlocutor and co-creator. A demand for non-linear themes, unrevealed meaning and nebulous emotion. The art of German Titov creates the territory of those Shadows that since time immemorial marked the place where we could expect an artistic event. Compelling by virtue of its mysterious illusoriness. And imbued with sublime terror.

Sergei Khachaturov

Each photograph from the FOREST series is a picture in itself, with its own delineated world and its own paradigm, invisibly aligned (by the joint efforts of artist and viewer) in an upward vertical, while the horizontal line of the series in its entirety remains non-paradigmatic. The supposed insufficiency of each photograph, the ‘clipping’ of edges (you want to peer beyond these edges) and most importantly, authorial emphasis on this insufficiency (by the ‘strangeness’, the blazing ‘flash’ of the subject matter) also aligns this paradigmatic vertical of fantasy. From a formal point of view we are confronted by themes, yet the development of each theme (expressed in a specific — single! — photograph), the ‘fugue’ itself, is not in the next item beside it in the horizontal line-up but above or below it, in a vertical possibility of continuation (of the Path) to infinity. If we regard the series from this point of view, then initial apparent frustration engendered by the alignment and even a certain unease in some of the subjects vanish (like an illusion) and we find ourselves before the capacious, brilliantly captured and objectified ‘paws’ of that same squirrel whose squeal is also the satori of enlightenment.

For myself alone I would like to note down the more ‘pertinent’ bars of the ladder in (on) this Vertical:
red car T195XB on the roadside,
red can in the window of a kiosk,
Buddhist ‘nimbus’ above a snowy field,
car on a railway crossing in red-white flashes of light,
red-pink-blue turkey,
plastic of an orange hare on the fence,
similar, but yellow, head, of a fox (?),
worn doorstep.

PS. Three ‘video-intensifications’ on these themes for contemplation represent their development in time (we should not forget that meditation is comprised from such states of consciousness, in which eternity replaces time and infinity replaces space), a protracted vision ‘straight ahead’ — not turning right to the east or left to the west, but more to the north-north-forward.

Strategic information partner

Profile magazine

Information partners

1st Channel The Art Newspaper Russia Iskusstvo Magazine Foto-Video be in Photosight DI

Арт-Гид Diletant LiveJournal RosPhoto Сlub.foto.ru

My Destination Moscow Moscow in Your Pocket Сult.mos.ru

© Multimedia Complex of Actual Arts, Moscow

All rights reserved, 1997—2018. Credits

RussianEnglish

Герман Титов
ЛЕС

Герман Титов.
Из серии «ЛЕС». 
2013 Герман Титов.
Из серии «ЛЕС». 
2013 Герман Титов.
Из серии «ЛЕС». 
2013 Герман Титов.
Из серии «ЛЕС». 
2013 Герман Титов.
Из серии «ЛЕС». 
2013 Герман Титов.
Из серии «ЛЕС». 
2013 Герман Титов.
Из серии «ЛЕС». 
2013 Герман Титов.
Из серии «ЛЕС». 
2013 Герман Титов.
Из серии «ЛЕС». 
2013 Герман Титов.
Из серии «ЛЕС». 
2013 Герман Титов.
Из серии «ЛЕС». 
2013 Герман Титов.
Из серии «ЛЕС». 
2013 Герман Титов.
Из серии «ЛЕС». 
2013 Герман Титов.
Из серии «ЛЕС». 
2013

Герман Титов. Из серии «ЛЕС». 2013

Герман Титов. Из серии «ЛЕС». 2013

Герман Титов. Из серии «ЛЕС». 2013

Герман Титов. Из серии «ЛЕС». 2013

Герман Титов. Из серии «ЛЕС». 2013

Герман Титов. Из серии «ЛЕС». 2013

Герман Титов. Из серии «ЛЕС». 2013

Герман Титов. Из серии «ЛЕС». 2013

Герман Титов. Из серии «ЛЕС». 2013

Герман Титов. Из серии «ЛЕС». 2013

Герман Титов. Из серии «ЛЕС». 2013

Герман Титов. Из серии «ЛЕС». 2013

Герман Титов. Из серии «ЛЕС». 2013

Герман Титов. Из серии «ЛЕС». 2013

Москва, 19.IX.2014—19.X.2014

выставка завершилась

Поделиться с друзьями

Герман Титов - легендарная фигура неофициального искусства, меценат и коллекционер, издатель «Библиотеки Московского концептуализма («ИННОВАЦИЯ» 2010). Он во многом ответственен за расцвет русской концептуальной школы и сегодня развивает ее идеи как художник

Герман Титов - легендарная фигура неофициального искусства, меценат и коллекционер, издатель «Библиотеки Московского концептуализма («ИННОВАЦИЯ» 2010). Он во многом ответственен за расцвет русской концептуальной школы и сегодня развивает ее идеи как художник

Свернуть

О выставке

В литературе XVIII века бытовал жанр «Готический роман». Его специфика — в поиске места встречи обыденного и трансцендентного. Обычно это место маркируется как ужасное, так как на нем происходят все самые странные и преступные вещи. Липкая жуть сочится именно там, где на первый взгляд все заурядно и даже пошло. Рациональный Век Просвещения отводил готике свое почетное место в классификационной таблице «возвышенных эмоций». Тех, которые не связаны с рассудочным, логическим и совершенным познанием мира, но реагируют на диссонансы, или, как их называл еще в XVII веке Фрэнсис Бэкон, «отклоняющиеся примеры». Характерно, что природу этих таинственных, возбуждающих душу «возвышенными» эмоциями происшествий Век Просвещения объяснял вполне рационально и даже позитивистски. Объяснял некоторым странным совпадением запутанных обстоятельств, которые можно распутать благодаря тому, что Шерлок Холмс Конан-Дойля называл «методом дедукции». По этой причине «готический роман» стал родителем современного детектива с железной логикой правил игры и мотиваций.

Ну а если обыденное и трансцендентное, встретившись, так и не расплетутся на ниточки объяснимых причин и следствий? Тогда, тяжко вздохнув, мы вынуждены признать, что попали в объятия Дэвида Линча или кого-то из писателей-битников. Тут уже другие дорожные знаки. Равновесие между здравым смыслом и прелестью возбуждающих и страшных эмоций нарушено. И шоссе в никуда.

Художник Герман Титов на первый взгляд самый респектабельный джентльмен. А в своем творчестве такой вот путешественник на территории липкого ужаса, где все до боли знакомо, и оттого пронзительно жутко. Потому как талант Германа в извлечении на свет не улик даже, а испарений бесконтрольной и не поддающейся вербализации тревоги. Былинки в продрогшем снежном поле со свинцовым небом над ним, езда на машине в заброшенный дом с хламом полуистлевшего мусора и странной надписью мелом на двери «Привет», вспыхнувшие фары-вопли авто в ночной мгле... Все эти сюжеты уже совсем не соотносятся со старым добрым концептуализмом периода «Коллективных Действий». Это нечто другое: концентрация одинокого страха, конвульсии темы, которая даже не может быть обозначена. Действа невидимых действий.

Культурный бэкграунд подобного искусства, возможно, в нелинейной литературе Уильяма Берроуза и Брайона Гайсина. Но не только. Еще в нашей особой, метафизической рефлексии прогрессистского модернистского проекта, руины которого описал в своей книге «Воинствующий модернизм» Овен Хаверли (Hatherley O. Militant Modernism. 2009). В работах Германа Титова часто встречаются руины советской архитектуры и быта 1960 — 1970-х: блочные, на ладан дышащие заброшенные дома, освещенные мертвенным светом казенные коридоры, автобусные остановки, выкрашенные в супрематический цвет. Все это схоже с ощущением пребывания в Зоне Тарковского («Сталкер»), главным антимодернистским посланием культуры 1970-х. Зараженное чем-то, руинированное, но дико притягательное место, оставленное иной цивилизацией. В нем есть комната желаний, но самих желаний давно уже нету. Эта ностальгия по подобного рода «зонам» оформилась в движение киберпанк — в общем-то прямого наследника битничества.

Возможно, имеется еще одна составляющая искусства Германа Титова: сознательное обращение нового поколения художников к немоте и безответности. Вроде бы немотствующий концептуализм был на деле очень красноречив и болтлив даже. Постоянно жонглировал речевыми и ментальными конструкциями, догмами, клише. Все. Устали. Человек сегодня пленен различными бессовестными полями текстов, смыслов, медийных образов. Востребована тишина, самоумаление, доверие зрителю-собеседнику и сотворцу. Востребованы нелинейные темы, непроявленные смыслы, смутные эмоции. Искусство Германа Титова создает территорию той самой Мглы, которая издревле была местом ожидания художественного события. Очень притягательным в силу своей таинственной призрачности. И полным возвышенного ужаса.

Сергей Хачатуров

Каждая фотография из серии ЛЕС — сама по себе картина, со своим собственным очерченным миром, со своей парадигмой, невидимо выстраимовой (совместными усилиями автора и зрителя) вверх по вертикали, в то время как горизонтальная линия всей серии не парадигматична. Некоторая как бы недостаточность каждой фотографии, «обрезанность» по краям (хотелось бы взглянуть за эти края), и, главное, авторская акцентированность на этой недостаточности (через «странность» и «вспышечность» сюжетов) и выстраивает эту парадигматическую вертикаль фантазии. С формальной точки зрения мы имеем дело с темами, а разработка каждой темы (выраженной в конкретной — одной! — фотографии), сама «фуга» — не в следующей, соседней с ней по горизонтальному ряду, а вверху или внизу, в вертикальной возможности продолжения (Пути) в бесконечность. Если рассматривать серию с этой точки зрения, то на первый взгляд кажущаяся настроенческая фрустрационность и некоторая даже жуть в отдельных сюжетах исчезает (как иллюзия) и мы оказываемся перед ёмкими, отлично схваченными и объективированными «лапками» той белки, верещание которой и есть сатори.

Исключительно для себя я хотел бы отметить наиболее «удобные» перекладины лестницы в (на) эту Вертикаль:
красная машина на обочине Т195ХВ,
красная банка в окошке ларька,
буддийский «нимб» над заснеженным полем,
машина на ж-д переезде в красно-белых всполохах света,
красно-розово-синий индюк,
пластмасса оранжевого зайца на заборе,
такая же голова, но желтая, лисы (?),
истёртый порог.

PS. Три «видеоуглубления» в эти темы для созерцания — это их развертывание во времени (не забудем, что созерцания — это такие состояния сознания, при которых вечность заменяет время, а бесконечность — пространство), это длящийся взгляд «прямо перед собой» — не направо на восток, не налево на запад, а скорее на север-север-вперед.

Стратегический информационный партнер

Журнал «Профиль»

Информационные партнеры

Первый канал The Art Newspaper Russia Искусство. Издается с 1933 года Foto-Video be in Фото.сайт Диалог Искусств

Арт-Гид Diletant LiveJournal RosPhoto Сlub.foto.ru

My Destination Moscow Moscow in Your Pocket Сult.mos.ru

© Мультимедийный комплекс актуальных искусств, Москва

Все права защищены, 1997—2017.