MULTIMEDIA ART MUSEUM, MOSCOW
MUSEUM "MOSCOW HOUSE OF PHOTOGRAPHY"
Ru

Grand Tour: Russian version. Venice
Pavel and Anastasia Khoroshilov’s collection

Carlo Naya.
View of the Biblioteca Marciana, the Campanile di San Marco and the Ducal Palace.
Venice.
1875 Domenico Bresolin.
The Scala dei Giganti, 	
the courtyard of the Palazzo Ducale.
1858 Carlo Naya.
View of the Canal Grande taken from the Campanile di San Marco.
Venice.
1870s Carlo Ponti.
Canal Grande.
Venice.
1860s

Carlo Naya. View of the Biblioteca Marciana, the Campanile di San Marco and the Ducal Palace. Venice. 1875

Domenico Bresolin. The Scala dei Giganti, the courtyard of the Palazzo Ducale. 1858

Carlo Naya. View of the Canal Grande taken from the Campanile di San Marco. Venice. 1870s

Carlo Ponti. Canal Grande. Venice. 1860s

Moscow, 17.05.2016—19.06.2016

exhibition is over

Share with friends

The Multimedia Art Museum, Moscow presents the exhibition ‘Grand Tour: Russian Version. Venice’ from the collection of Pavel and Anastasia Khoroshilov, featuring a series of landscape and architectural photographs of the ‘city on water’. This is the third series in the project ‘Grand Tour. Russian Version’. The two previous exhibitions at MAMM in December and February proved immensely popular with the public, these being devoted to historic photographs of Rome and Naples.

The Multimedia Art Museum, Moscow presents the exhibition ‘Grand Tour: Russian Version. Venice’ from the collection of Pavel and Anastasia Khoroshilov, featuring a series of landscape and architectural photographs of the ‘city on water’. This is the third series in the project ‘Grand Tour. Russian Version’. The two previous exhibitions at MAMM in December and February proved immensely popular with the public, these being devoted to historic photographs of Rome and Naples.

Close

For mass-media

The Multimedia Art Museum, Moscow presents the exhibition ‘Grand Tour: Russian Version. Venice’ from the collection of Pavel and Anastasia Khoroshilov, featuring a series of landscape and architectural photographs of the ‘city on water’. This is the third series in the project ‘Grand Tour. Russian Version’. The two previous exhibitions at MAMM in December and February proved immensely popular with the public, these being devoted to historic photographs of Rome and Naples.

In the words of Joseph Brodsky, Venice is ‘the city of the eye; your other faculties play a faint second fiddle’. Today it is very hard to see Venice ‘as such’, since our perception is conditioned by the artistic images created over many centuries that comprise the ‘Venetian myth’, with its multiple allusions and associations. Whimsically uniting both past and present, this city has always been steeped in an atmosphere of mystery, attracting writers, artists, intellectuals and travellers from the far corners of the world.

Venice has scarcely altered in the last three centuries. The city acquired its unique architectural appearance due to prodigious donations from Venetian merchants. ‘The Stones of Venice’ (1853), one of the most important and voluminous works by famous English historian, art critic and lover of photography John Ruskin, provides us with a study of the various architectural styles found in this ‘pearl of the Adriatic’.

A visit to the ‘city on water’ was an obligatory part of the programme for the Russian Grand Tour. Venice became an essential stop on a fascinating journey that began in Rome and continued to Naples. The Russian literary and artistic ‘Veniciana’ is very extensive. Pyotr Vyazemsky, Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Pyotr Tchaikovsky, Mikhail Vrubel, Alexander Blok, Sergei Diaghilev, Alexandre Benois and Valentin Serov were all entranced by the city, creating images of their own personal Venice.

By the mid-1850s Venice became the second most photographed city in Italy, after Rome. A multitude of photography studios opened there and jostled for trade. Venetian photography largely consists of architectural views portraying the city and its environs. Each frame acquires depth from the play of light and reflections. Favourite subjects for local photographers were images of gondolas gliding along the Grand Canal, the striking architecture of ancient palazzos, and the bridges steeped in legend that connect the banks of different canals. Photographic views of the piazzas by St. Mark’s and the Doge’s Palace took pride of place.

One of the first amateur photographers to produce a series depicting the sights of Venice was the professional artist Domenico Bresolin. Due to their precisely arranged composition his large-format prints from the 1850s on salted paper, which gradually supplanted daguerreotypes, were highly esteemed by art critics of the period and became very popular.

Swiss-born Carlo Ponti and the Italian Carlo Naya were regarded as the creators of Venetian views in photography. Their images of the city’s architecture and the interior furnishings of the basilicas and palazzos brought them fame. The most successful photographers in Venice, they opened a studio in 1857.

By the 1870s 25 shops belonging to photographers stood on St. Mark’s Square. Thanks to the development of photographic techniques, albumen prints became available to a wider circle of customers, from art historians to prosperous tourists who wished to acquire an image of the city’s most important sights as a memento.

The photographs shown in this exhibition were taken by Italian photographers who were all well-known at the time — Carlo Naya, Carlo Ponti, Domenico Bresolin, Luigi Sacchi and Maurizio Lotze, and brought back by Russian sightseers who visited Venice in the second half of the 19th century. Thanks to them we have an opportunity to immerse ourselves in the wonderful atmosphere that pervaded Venice during that period.

Corporate trustee

Norilsk Nickel


General radio partners

Chocolate Radio Business FM

Strategic information partners

Profile magazine Gazeta.ru


Special media partner

The Art Newspaper Russia


Information partners
1st Channel bfm.ru RosPhoto The Vanderlust Russian pioner

Iskusstvo Magazine DI Сlub.foto.ru ArtTube ART GUIDE

RussianEnglish

Grand Tour: Русская версия. Венеция
Собрание Павла и Анастасии Хорошиловых

Карло Найя.
Вид на Библиотеку Марчиана, Кампанилу Сан Марко и Дворец Дожей.
Венеция.
1875 Доменико Брезолин. 
Лестница Гигантов во внутреннем дворе Дворца Дожей.
1858 Карло Найя.
Вид с Кампанилы Сан Марко на Гранд Канал.  
Венеция.
1870-е Карло Понти.
Гранд Канал.
Венеция.
1860-е

Карло Найя. Вид на Библиотеку Марчиана, Кампанилу Сан Марко и Дворец Дожей. Венеция. 1875

Доменико Брезолин. Лестница Гигантов во внутреннем дворе Дворца Дожей. 1858

Карло Найя. Вид с Кампанилы Сан Марко на Гранд Канал. Венеция. 1870-е

Карло Понти. Гранд Канал. Венеция. 1860-е

Москва, 17.V.2016—19.VI.2016

выставка завершилась

Поделиться с друзьями

Мультимедиа Арт Музей, Москва представляет выставку «Grand Tour: Русская версия. Венеция» из собрания Павла и Анастасии Хорошиловых, включающую в себя серию видовых и архитектурных фотографий города на воде. Это третья серия проекта «Grand Tour. Русская версия». Две предыдущие выставки, посвященные старой фотографии Рима и Неаполя, проходили в МАММ в декабре и феврале и вызвали огромный интерес публики.

Мультимедиа Арт Музей, Москва представляет выставку «Grand Tour: Русская версия. Венеция» из собрания Павла и Анастасии Хорошиловых, включающую в себя серию видовых и архитектурных фотографий города на воде. Это третья серия проекта «Grand Tour. Русская версия». Две предыдущие выставки, посвященные старой фотографии Рима и Неаполя, проходили в МАММ в декабре и феврале и вызвали огромный интерес публики.

Свернуть

О выставке

По выражению Иосифа Бродского, Венеция — «это город для глаз; остальные чувства играют здесь еле слышную вторую скрипку». Вместе с тем, сегодня нам крайне сложно увидеть Венецию «как таковую»: наше восприятие обусловлено создаваемыми на протяжении многих веков художественными образами, формирующими «венецианский миф» с его множеством аллюзий и ассоциаций. Причудливо соединяя прошлое и настоящее, этот город всегда был окутан атмосферой загадочности, которая привлекала литераторов, художников, интеллектуалов и путешественников со всех концов мира.

Венеция почти не менялась в течение трех столетий. Благодаря огромным пожертвованиям венецианских купцов, город приобрел неповторимый архитектурный облик. Изучению архитектурных стилей «жемчужины Адриатики» посвящено одно из наиболее значимых и объемных сочинений известного английского историка, искусствоведа и любителя фотографии Джона Рёскина — книга «Камни Венеции» (1853).

Посещение «города на воде» было обязательной частью программы русского Гран тура. Венеция стала важнейшим пунктом увлекательного путешествия, начатого в Риме и продолженного в Неаполе. Русская литературная и художественная «венециана» очень обширна. Петр Вяземский, Федор Достоевский, Петр Чайковский, Михаил Врубель, Александр Блок, Сергей Дягилев, Александр Бенуа, Валентин Серов были очарованы городом и создали образ своей Венеции.

Уже в середине 1850-х годов Венеция становится вторым после Рима фотографическим центром Италии. Здесь было открыто множество фотомастерских, конкурировавших между собой. Венецианская фотография — это прежде всего архитектурные виды города и его окрестностей. Благодаря игре света и отражений каждый кадр обретает глубину. Любимыми сюжетами местных фотографов становятся изображения гондолы, плывущей по Гран каналу; старинных палаццо, поражающих своей архитектурой; овеянных легендами мостов, соединяющих берега каналов. Особое место занимают видовые фотографии площади Сан Марко и Палаццо Дукале.

Одним из первых фотографов-любителей, создавших серию снимков достопримечательностей Венеции, был профессиональный художник Доменико Бресолин. Благодаря четко выстроенной композиции его крупноформатные отпечатки 1850-х годов на соленой бумаге, постепенно вытеснившей дагерротип, были высоко оценены искусствоведами той эпохи и пользовались большой популярностью.

Создателями венецианской видовой фотографии считаются швейцарец Карло Понти и итальянец Карло Наяй. Известность им принесли снимки архитектуры города и внутренних убранств базилик и палаццо. В 1857 году они открыли студию, став самыми успешными фотографами в Венеции.

В 1870-е годы на площади Сан Марко располагалось 25 магазинов, принадлежавших разным фотографам. Благодаря развитию фотографических техник альбуминовые отпечатки стали доступны более широкому кругу покупателей, начиная от историков искусства и заканчивая состоятельными туристами, которые хотели приобрести изображение главных достопримечательностей города «на память».

Представленные на выставке фотографии были созданы известными в то время итальянскими фотографами — Карло Найя, Карло Понти, Доменико Бресолин, Луиджи Саччи и Маурицио Лотце — и привезены русскими путешественниками, побывавшими в Венеции во второй половине ХIХ века. Благодаря им мы имеем возможность окунуться в невероятную венецианскую атмосферу того времени.

Корпоративный попечитель

Норильский никель


Генеральные радиопартнеры

Chocolate Radio Business FM

Стратегические информационные партнеры

Журнал «Профиль» Газета.ru


Профильный медиа партнер

The Art Newspaper Russia


Информационные партнеры

Первый канал bfm.ru RosPhoto The Vanderlust Русский пионер

Искусство. Издается с 1933 года Диалог Искусств Сlub.foto.ru ArtTube Арт-Гид

© Мультимедийный комплекс актуальных искусств, Москва

Все права защищены, 1997—2017.