Dear visitors! For technical reasons, meeting with the organizers of the «Weeks of Conscience» postponed to  indefinite period. We apologize.

Philippe Bordas
MOSKVAFRIKA

Philippe Bordas.
From 'MOSKVAFRIKA'series. 2003.
© Philippe Bordas

Philippe Bordas. From 'MOSKVAFRIKA'series. 2003. © Philippe Bordas

Moscow, 21.03.2012—8.04.2012

exhibition is over

A3 Gallery

Starokonushenny per., 39

Share with friends

In memory of all the African students who from the Fifties right up to the present day came to complete their studies in the USSR and then Russia, in 2003 I decided to spend a few days in Moscow with French rapper of Chadian origin MC Solaar. Our aim was to recreate in photographs this historic union between the black and red continents. These images were destined to serve as a visual accompaniment to his album. We made a book from them, and now they have become an exhibition.

In memory of all the African students who from the Fifties right up to the present day came to complete their studies in the USSR and then Russia, in 2003 I decided to spend a few days in Moscow with French rapper of Chadian origin MC Solaar. Our aim was to recreate in photographs this historic union between the black and red continents. These images were destined to serve as a visual accompaniment to his album. We made a book from them, and now they have become an exhibition.

Close

Opening day photos

© Anton Galetskiy © Anton Galetskiy © Anton Galetskiy © Anton Galetskiy © Anton Galetskiy © Anton Galetskiy © Anton Galetskiy

For mass-media

With suitcases full of outfits already prepared in Paris according to our specifications, we devised a quasi-cinematographic programme. MC Solaar became an actor in archetypal comic sketches corresponding to our fantasies as French children fed on the mythology about Russia relayed by novels and TV.

One morning we reinvented an African student in a tight-fitting Fifties suit, clutching a small briefcase. Another time MC Solaar dressed as a labourer — a black Stakhanovite. We slipped through the back door of factories to take shots against a background of machines and astonished workers. The next day MC Solaar, who proved to be an excellent actor, dressed up in a voluminous Dior fur coat reminiscent of Doctor Zhivago. He pulled a political commissar’s peaked cap over his eyes and marched through Moscow without authorisation, jeering at westernised diners in McDonalds like a spectre from the USSR mocking the spineless young of the new Russia... On another occasion he kitted himself out as the sprinter Valery Borzov (Adidas vintage) and went off to train in an old stadium with an uphill track, apparently to improve his physical condition and realise a secret dream: to become the first African pilot in the Red Army. Dressed in a collector’s pilot uniform with a helmet under his arm he visited Space City, crossing town like a phantom from the past.

French designer Agnès B. made us kitsch ‘nouveau riche’ suits and our African student assumed the role of parvenu in floppy trousers and bizarre-looking hats. That evening he visited a casino. After donning a chic suit and black shades he was transformed into a gas billionaire, or maybe an African mafioso dressed head-to-toe in Smalto...

We had a wonderful time. Walked a lot. A few times we were very scared. With no official permission we had to confront ranks of security personnel guarding the factories. MC Solaar got very hot. I smothered him in a military overcoat weighing 15 kilos and capable of withstanding Siberian temperatures lower than 70 degrees. Have to admit, that was a lot to ask of an African, even one accustomed to winter in Paris.

Philippe Bordas

Strategic information partner

Арт Хроника

General information partner

TimeOut от 11.03

Information partners

Первый канал 13.03.12 Эхо Москвы Коммерсант FM The Village 13.03.12 Look at me 11.03 Digital Photo 13.03.12 ФотоМастерская 13.03.12 Foto-Video 13.03.12 Winzavod art review 13.03.12 Menu magazine 13.03.12 Искусство the art magazine 13.03.12 ДИ 13.03.12 Foto.ru 13.03.12

Official guide of the "Photobiennale 2012"

Арт-Гид 13.03.12

© Multimedia Complex of Actual Arts, Moscow

All rights reserved, 1997—2018. Credits

RussianEnglish

Филипп Бордас
МОСКВАФРИКА

Филипп Бордас.
Из серии «МОСКВАФРИКА». 2003.
© Филипп Бордас

Филипп Бордас. Из серии «МОСКВАФРИКА». 2003. © Филипп Бордас

Москва, 21.III.2012—8.IV.2012

выставка завершилась

Галерея «А-3»

Староконюшенный пер., д. 39 (карта проезда)
время работы: 12:00 - 20:00, вход бесплатный.

Поделиться с друзьями

В 2003 году, помня обо всех африканских студентах, с пятидесятых годов до настоящего времени приезжавших учиться в СССР, а потом в Россию, я решил провести несколько дней в Москве и воссоздать при помощи фотографии историческую связь между черным и красным континентом вместе с французским рэпером чадского происхождения МС Солааром. Эти снимки должны были стать визуальным рядом его нового альбома. Мы из них сделали книгу. Теперь это выставка.

В 2003 году, помня обо всех африканских студентах, с пятидесятых годов до настоящего времени приезжавших учиться в СССР, а потом в Россию, я решил провести несколько дней в Москве и воссоздать при помощи фотографии историческую связь между черным и красным континентом вместе с французским рэпером чадского происхождения МС Солааром. Эти снимки должны были стать визуальным рядом его нового альбома. Мы из них сделали книгу. Теперь это выставка.

Свернуть

Фото с вернисажа

© Антон Галецкий © Антон Галецкий © Антон Галецкий © Антон Галецкий © Антон Галецкий © Антон Галецкий © Антон Галецкий

Каталог выставки

Девятый Международный месяц фотографии в Москве: Каталог.
М., 2012. – 296 с., 23х30 см
ISBN 978-5-93977-064-4
RUR 1500

О выставке

Мы взяли с собой несколько чемоданов разной одежды, приготовленной в Париже по нашему указанию, и составили программу типа режиссерского сценария. МС Солаар был актером архетипических сценок-зарисовок, которые должны были соответствовать представлениям о России сынов Франции, вскормленных телевизионными и литературными мифами.

В одно утро мы возвращали к жизни африканского студента в тесном костюмчике пятидесятых годов с маленьким портфельчиком в руке. В другой раз МС Солаар надевал рабочую робу и превращался в негра-стахановца. Для этого мы тайком проникали на заводы, где проводили съемки на фоне станков среди недоумевающих рабочих. На следующий день МС Солаар — прекрасный актер — надевал огромную шубу дома Диор, типа шуб из Доктора Живаго. Или нахлобучивал картуз политкомиссара и шел через Москву без разрешения, глядя вызывающе на молодежь западного вида в Макдональдсах, как призрак СССР, презирающий бесхребетность новой России... Потом он натягивал на себя полное обмундирование (Адидас) спринтера Валерия Борзова и шел тренироваться на старый стадион с наклонной дорожкой, чтобы реализовать заветную мечту — стать первым африканским военным летчиком Красной армии. В комбинезоне «коллектор» пилота, со шлемом подмышкой, он направлялся в Космический городок, двигаясь через город как привидение.

Аньес Б., французская стилистка, приготовила для нас типичные костюмы нуворишей в стиле китч, и наш африканский студент теперь чувствовал себя в шкуре парвеню в слишком широких брюках и странных головных уборах. Вечером он шел в казино. Переодевался, надевал роскошный костюм и черные очки и становился газовым миллионером, или африканским мафиози в тройке Смальто...

Мы безумно веселились. Мы много ходили. Порой нам было очень страшно. Без каких-либо пропусков, мы должны были стойко держаться, сталкиваясь лицом к лицу с охранниками на заводах. МС Солаару было очень жарко. Я напялил на него военную шинель: модель, весившая 15 килограммов, была рассчитана на 70-тиградусные сибирские морозы. Требовать этого от африканца, даже привычного к парижским холодам, было — если подумать — слишком смело, признаюсь.

Филипп Бордас

Стратегический информационный партнер

Арт Хроника

Генеральный информационный партнер

TimeOut от 11.03

Информационные партнеры

Первый канал 13.03.12 Эхо Москвы Коммерсант FM The Village 13.03.12 Look at me 11.03 Digital Photo 13.03.12 ФотоМастерская 13.03.12 Foto-Video 13.03.12 Winzavod art review 13.03.12 Menu magazine 13.03.12 Искусство the art magazine 13.03.12 ДИ 13.03.12 Foto.ru 13.03.12

Официальный путеводитель "Фотобиеннале 2012"

Арт-Гид 13.03.12

© Мультимедийный комплекс актуальных искусств, Москва

Все права защищены, 1997—2017.