Pino Pinelli
Matter. Fragment. Shadow

Moscow, 21.09.2016—5.11.2016

exhibition is over

Share with friends

From September 21 to October 23 Multimedia Art Museum, Moscow (MAMM) houses the first in Russia personal show of Pino Pinelli, a famous Italian artist, and a major representative of Analytical Painting

From September 21 to October 23 Multimedia Art Museum, Moscow (MAMM) houses the first in Russia personal show of Pino Pinelli, a famous Italian artist, and a major representative of Analytical Painting



For mass-media

The Matter. Fragment. Shadow. show prepared by the curators Olga Sviblova, the МАММ Director, and Francesca Pini, is conducted with the support of the Italian Culture Institute in Moscow in cooperation with the Pino Pinelli archive, Claudio Poleschi Arte, Lucca, and Dep Art, Milan, galleries. The show presents nine of the most significant artworks by the Sicilian artist, from the 1970s-1990s mainly, which offer a complete picture of his style.

«It is the first in the series of art shows planned by the Italian Culture Institute in Moscow aiming to expose the Moscow public to the brave artistic experiments in post-WWII Italy,» says Olga Strada, the Director of the Italian Culture Institute in Moscow. Piero Mascitti is the art director of this ambitious project.

A true stylistic revolution starts in Italy during the 1970s. Artists encounter the challenge of the painting interpreted as the combination of the canvas and the of frame: some of them, like Bonalumi and Castellani, reach beyond the painted plain, while others, like Lucio Fontana, break the integrity of its surface.

Pino Pinelli (b. 1938) started his career as an artist relying on the classical set of media. In 1963 he moves to Milan (and has been based there since then): he is drawn into lively discussions involving such masters as Lucio Fontana, Piero Manzoni, Enrico Castellani. In the early 1970s he creates the Monochromes and Topologies series, and leads the movement called Analytical Painting (the term was coined Filiberto Menna). In 1976, having sensed the spirit of the time, he arrives at the «dispersion» of the painted artwork — this is the traditional interpretation of Pinellini’s method. He takes up painting in small forms, placing canvases very close to each other, as if it were a larger painting dispersed in space. The wall loses is neutral status in this process being transformed into one of the main characters which can carry the elements of pure tones, now in the form of wrinkles and creases, and then of clots, or strict linear shapes, or fractals, independent, yet gathered along a slightly curving trajectory which seems to imitate the gesture of the sower.

The fragmentation of the painting is a symptom of despair experienced by the European artist when he faces history and is aware of how much has been done before: the only way out of this situation for him is not so much painting as a process, as the contemplation of it. The Italian artist cannot follow the same path as the American one who is painting his own history day after day. The artist based in the country of Piero della Francesca and Masaccio who feels the burden of the history of art on his shoulders is left with one choice, he could only imitate painting filling it with new meanings.

Pinellini’s works are restless painted bodies which, oscillating, move thorough space in large and small groups. An alarming incompleteness and viscosity is felt in them. They are tactile, they physically emanate the vibration of light and broadcast emotions through open bright colors.

The show is timed to coincide with the issue of the catalog in three languages (Italian, English, Russian) prepared by the Silvana editoriale publishers. It features texts by the curators of the exhibition, an article by the art critic Marco Meneguzzo, and a collection of reviews covering the oeuvre of the artist from 1970s to our days.

With the participation of

Istituto Italiano di Cultura di Mosca

With the support of

ЮниКредит Банк

General radio partners

Chocolate Radio Business FM

Strategic information partners

Profile magazine

Special media partner

The Art Newspaper Russia

Information partners
1st Channel RosPhoto The Vanderlust Russian pioner

Iskusstvo Magazine DI С ArtTube ART GUIDE

© Multimedia Complex of Actual Arts, Moscow

All rights reserved, 1997—2018. Credits

RussianEnglish

Пино Пинелли
Материя. Фрагмент. Тень

Москва, 21.IX.2016—5.XI.2016

выставка завершилась

Поделиться с друзьями

С 21 сентября по 23 октября в МАММ – Мультимедиа Арт Музее, Москва проходит первая в России персональная выставка Пино Пинелли, известного итальянского художника, крупнейшего представителя «аналитической живописи»

С 21 сентября по 23 октября в МАММ – Мультимедиа Арт Музее, Москва проходит первая в России персональная выставка Пино Пинелли, известного итальянского художника, крупнейшего представителя «аналитической живописи»

Свернуть

Видео

О выставке

Выставка «Материя. Фрагмент. Тень», подготовленная кураторами Ольгой Свибловой, директором МАММ, и Франческой Пини проходит при поддержке Итальянского института культуры в Москве, в сотрудничестве с Архивом Пино Пинелли, галереями «Claudio Poleschi Arte» (Лукка) и «Dep Art» (Милан). На выставке представлены девять наиболее значимых произведений сицилийского художника, преимущественно 1970-х — 1990-х годов, дающих полное представление о его стиле.

«Это — первая из серии выставок, запланированных Итальянским институтом культуры в Москве и призванных познакомить московскую публику со смелыми художественными экспериментами послевоенной Италии», — говорит директор Итальянского института культуры в Москве Ольга Страда. Художественное руководство этим амбициозным проектом осуществляет Пьеро Машитти.

В 1970-е годы в Италии зарождается настоящая стилистическая революция. Художники сталкиваются с ограниченностью картины, понимаемой как совокупность холста и рамы: одни — например, Боналуми и Кастеллани, выходят за плоскость картины, другие, как Лучо Фонтана, решаются нарушить цельность ее поверхности.

Пино Пинелли (род. в 1938) начинал свой путь как художник, работающий с классическим инструментарием. В 1963 году он переезжает в Милан (где живет и работает по сей день): его привлекают оживленные дискуссии, в которых участвуют такие мастера, как Лучо Фонтана, Пьеро Манцони, Энрико Кастеллани. В начале 1970-х годов он создает серии «Монохромы» и «Топологии» и становится лидером направления, получившего название «аналитическая живопись» (термин Филиберто Менны). В 1976 году, почувствовав дух эпохи, он приходит к «рассеиванию» живописного произведения — именно так традиционно описывается прием Пинелли. Он начинает работать в меньших форматах, располагая холсты совсем рядом друг с другом, — словно это крупное полотно, которое разлетелось в пространстве. При этом стена теряет свой нейтральный статус, становясь одним из главных персонажей, способным принять на себя элементы чистых тонов, то в виде складок и морщин, то в форме сгустков, то строгих линейных форм, то фракталами и независимо, собранные, как правило, по слегка изогнутой траектории, будто имитируя жест сеятеля.

Фрагментация картины — симптом отчаяния, которое испытывает европейский художник перед лицом истории, осознавая, как много уже было сделано до него: единственный выход — не столько «заниматься» живописью, сколько «размышлять» о ней. Итальянский художник не может следовать тем же путем, что американский, который изо дня в день пишет свою собственную историю. Художнику, живущему в стране Пьеро делла Франческа и Мазаччо и ощущающего на себе груз истории искусства, остается лишь имитировать живопись, придавая ей новые смыслы.

Работы Пинелли — это беспокойные живописные тела, которые, колышутся, движутся в пространстве большими и малыми группами. В них ощущается тревожная незавершенность и тягучесть. Они тактильны, они физически источают вибрации света и транслируют эмоции через открытые, яркие цвета.

К выставке приурочен выход трехъязычного каталога (итальянский, английский, русский), подготовленного издательством «Silvana editoriale». В него вошли тексты кураторов, статья искусствоведа Марко Менегуццо и подборка рецензий на творчество художника с 1970-х годов до наших дней.

При участии

Istituto Italiano di Cultura di Mosca

При поддержке

ЮниКредит Банк


Генеральные радиопартнеры

Chocolate Radio Business FM

Стратегические информационные партнеры

Журнал «Профиль» Газета.ru


Профильный медиа партнер

The Art Newspaper Russia


Информационные партнеры

Первый канал bfm.ru RosPhoto The Vanderlust Русский пионер

Искусство. Издается с 1933 года Диалог Искусств Сlub.foto.ru ArtTube Арт-Гид

© Мультимедийный комплекс актуальных искусств, Москва

Все права защищены, 1997—2017.