Dear visitors! From July 30 to September 4, the museum is closed due to repair work and refurbishment of exhibition halls. We apologize.

MULTIMEDIA ART MUSEUM, MOSCOW
MUSEUM "MOSCOW HOUSE OF PHOTOGRAPHY"
Ru

Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn.
The Raven Tree, Der Rabenbaum.
2009-2011.
Private collection.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Photographer Heinz Hefele.
Courtesy of Rebecca Horn Rebecca Horn.
Time goes by.
1990-1991.
Credit IFA Stuttgart.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Photographer Atillio Maranzano.
Courtesy of collection IFA Stuttgart Rebecca Horn.
Die Malmaschine, The Paintingmachine.
1991.
Private collection.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Photographer Attilio Maranzano.
Courtesy of Rebecca Horn Rebecca Horn.
Großes Federrad, Large Feather Wheel.
1997.
Credit IFA Stuttgart.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Courtesy of collection IFA Stuttgart Rebecca Horn.
Der Sonnenseufzer.
2006.
Private collection.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Photographer Ed Restle.
Courtesy of Rebecca Horn Rebecca Horn.
Cock Mask, Hanhnenmaske.
1973.
Private collection Rebecca Horn.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Photographer Christian von Alvensleben, Hamburg.
Courtesy of Rebecca Horn Rebecca Horn.
Pencil Mask, Bleistiftmaske.
1972.
Private collection Rebecca Horn.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Photographer Filmstill.
Courtesy of Rebecca Horn Rebecca Horn.
Mit zwei Händen gleichzeitig die Haare schneiden.
1975.
Private collection Rebecca Horn.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Filmstill.
Courtesy of Rebecca Horn Rebecca Horn.
Mit beiden Händen gleichzeitig die Wände berühren.
1975.
Private collection Rebecca Horn.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Filmstill.
Courtesy of Rebecca Horn Rebecca Horn.
Buster's Bedroom.
1990.
Private collection Rebecca Horn.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Filmstill.
Courtesy of Rebecca Horn Rebecca Horn.
Buster's Bedroom.
1990.
Private collection Rebecca Horn.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Filmstill.
Courtesy of Rebecca Horn Rebecca Horn.
The Feathered Prison Fan.
1978.
Private collection Rebecca Horn.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Filmstill.
Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn. The Raven Tree, Der Rabenbaum. 2009-2011. Private collection. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Photographer Heinz Hefele. Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn. Time goes by. 1990-1991. Credit IFA Stuttgart. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Photographer Atillio Maranzano. Courtesy of collection IFA Stuttgart

Rebecca Horn. Die Malmaschine, The Paintingmachine. 1991. Private collection. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Photographer Attilio Maranzano. Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn. Großes Federrad, Large Feather Wheel. 1997. Credit IFA Stuttgart. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Courtesy of collection IFA Stuttgart

Rebecca Horn. Der Sonnenseufzer. 2006. Private collection. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Photographer Ed Restle. Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn. Cock Mask, Hanhnenmaske. 1973. Private collection Rebecca Horn. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Photographer Christian von Alvensleben, Hamburg. Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn. Pencil Mask, Bleistiftmaske. 1972. Private collection Rebecca Horn. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Photographer Filmstill. Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn. Mit zwei Händen gleichzeitig die Haare schneiden. 1975. Private collection Rebecca Horn. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Filmstill. Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn. Mit beiden Händen gleichzeitig die Wände berühren. 1975. Private collection Rebecca Horn. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Filmstill. Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn. Buster's Bedroom. 1990. Private collection Rebecca Horn. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Filmstill. Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn. Buster's Bedroom. 1990. Private collection Rebecca Horn. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Filmstill. Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn. The Feathered Prison Fan. 1978. Private collection Rebecca Horn. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Filmstill. Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Moscow, 15.05.2013—14.07.2013

exhibition is over

Share with friends

The Moscow Multimedia Art Museum (MAMM) presents the first personal show of the famous German artist Rebecca Horn in Russia. The display presents about 35 artworks including kinetic objects, documentation of her early performances, films and installations. The latter include: Time Goes by (1990–1991) Paintingmachine (1991), Broken Landscape (1997), Cinéma Vèritè (2005), Der Rabenbaum (2009–2011), and Irrlichter (2012). Besides that, the artist prepared Der Fluchtkoffer, (The Suitcase of a Refugee), a new kinetic installation, for MAMM.

The Moscow Multimedia Art Museum (MAMM) presents the first personal show of the famous German artist Rebecca Horn in Russia. The display presents about 35 artworks including kinetic objects, documentation of her early performances, films and installations. The latter include: Time Goes by (1990–1991) Paintingmachine (1991), Broken Landscape (1997), Cinéma Vèritè (2005), Der Rabenbaum (2009–2011), and Irrlichter (2012). Besides that, the artist prepared Der Fluchtkoffer, (The Suitcase of a Refugee), a new kinetic installation, for MAMM.

Close

Video

Opening day photos

Rebecca Horn Olga Sviblova, Rebecca Horn Anna Zaitceva and Olga Sviblova Hayden Chisholm Tatyana Arzamasova Juriy Avvakumov Aleksandra Vertinskaya Andrey Bartenev Oleg Dou and Anton Belov Alexander Ponomarev, Sergey Burasovskiy and Vladislav Flyarkovskiy Ruth Züblin (JTI) and Olga Sviblova Victor Erofeev Nick Ilyin Varvara Remchukova Vlad Lisovets Irina Mann Rebecca Horm and Pavel Lungin Vasiliy Tsereteli

For mass-media

Rebeccca Horn (1944) is a recognized classic of contemporary art. She received her first drawing lessons from her governess, and she got her professional education at the Hamburg Higher School of Visual Arts. In 1971, Rebecca Horn had a course of training at the St. Martin College of Arts in London, and spent the next few years in New York (1972–1981). The artist participated several times in the most important periodical show of contemporary art, the Kassel Documenta (1972, curator: Harald Szeemann; 1977, curator: Manfred Schneckenburger; 1982, curator: Rudi Fuchs; 1992, curator: Jan Hoet).

The main theme of Rebecca Horn’s oeuvre is the quest for expanded forms of self-perception, contemplation of the boundaries of the human body, of the complex interrelation between the animate / inanimate, and the way a human being communicates with the surrounding world. These themes were in the focus of post-minimalist art on both sides of the Atlantic, and in this respect the works of Horn are close to the films by Bruce Nauman and Vito Acconci’s performances.

At the age of 20 Rebecca Horn fell ill and spent about a year at a hospital. Her first «body sculptures» originated in that period (between December 1968 and June 1969), and the performances where they were used (Performance 1 and 2) demonstrated how the body overcame its boundaries, how disease and pain are replaced with peace and the feeling of safety. In a sense, Rebecca Horn had to build communication with the external world anew and to discover it for herself again. «In such works as A Balance for the Head, Black Horns, A Continuation of the Head and The White Body Fan, we witness an almost alchemical transformation of the body: amplified with horns, feathers and wings, it turns into the body of a mythological creature.» (Sergio Edelstein)

Her experience of staying in a close state was reflected in the further creations of Horn: it is characteristic that the action of her later full-length films to be shown at the exhibition (Partner for Dancing, Buster’s Bedroom) develop in the isolated space.

It is important to remember that the objects are as much characters in Horn’s oeuvre as people: the animate and inanimate enjoy equal rights in her works, entering into various relations. The mechanisms she designs (Broken Landscape, Solar Admirer) acquire emotions and are animate. In her films, sculptures and installations, closely linked together, Horn offers a new interpretation of the readymade concept, expanding it with animistic elements and demonstrating in this respect greater affinity to spiritualist rites than to conceptual art in this respect. It explains, besides other things, why found objects or objects which acquire a new function play such a significant role in her oeuvre.

The «human» characters of Horn fall into automatic behavior and resemble machines. It is not by accident that Buster Keaton, a legendary comic actor with his deadpan face, has been one of the main reference figures for Horn in the course of many years. The Buster’s Bedroom film and Time Goes by installation are immediately associated with his name. At the same time, Horn’s characters are so vulnerable that they have to hide themselves in the protective shells of feathers, behind masks, in prisons and shelters, don straightjackets. This is the only way for Horn and her characters to become free.

The works of the German artist were ahead of her time, and that is why every show she makes becomes an event to be remembered.

The MAMM show will be accompanied with the publication of a book about Rebecca Horn featuring texts by Doris von Drathen, Martin Mosebach, Karl Henlein and Sergio Edelstein, and the verses of the artist herself, which have been translated into Russian by Aleksey Prokopyev, a prominent translator of poetry and the winner of the Andrey Bely Award (2010).

Works of Rebecca Horn are in the collections of Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum (New York), MOMA (New York), Museum of Modern Art (New York), Museum of Modern art (Los Angeles), Museum of Modern Art (San Francisco), the Art Gallery of New South Wales (Australia), Castello di Rivoli in Turin, Tate Britain (London), Centre Georges Pompidou (Paris), Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe, Van Abbemuseum (Eindhoven), and many others.

The master class of the artist is on May 15th at 7 p. m. in MAMM (Ostozhenka str., 16).
The entrance is free. Please register at mk@mdf.ru.

Within

Russia - Germany year 2012/13

In collaboration with

Goethe Institut IFA
 

General Partner of the Exhibition

JTI

Information partner

ELLE

Hediard

Strategic information partner

Art Chronika

General information partner

TimeOut

Information partners

1st Channel Fashion Collection Kommersnat FM The Art Newspaper Russia Winzavod art review Courrier de Russie be in Foto-Video DI Арт-Гид 13.03.12

Дорогие друзья! Обращаем ваше внимание, что 10 сентября МАММ будет работать до 19:00 (касса до 18:00). Приносим извинения за доставленные неудобства!

RussianEnglish

Ребекка Хорн

Rebecca Horn.
The Raven Tree, Der Rabenbaum.
2009-2011.
Private collection.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Photographer Heinz Hefele.
Courtesy of Rebecca Horn Rebecca Horn.
Time goes by.
1990-1991.
Credit IFA Stuttgart.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Photographer Atillio Maranzano.
Courtesy of collection IFA Stuttgart Rebecca Horn.
Die Malmaschine, The Paintingmachine.
1991.
Private collection.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Photographer Attilio Maranzano.
Courtesy of Rebecca Horn Rebecca Horn.
Großes Federrad, Large Feather Wheel.
1997.
Credit IFA Stuttgart.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Courtesy of collection IFA Stuttgart Rebecca Horn.
Der Sonnenseufzer.
2006.
Private collection.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Photographer Ed Restle.
Courtesy of Rebecca Horn Rebecca Horn.
Cock Mask, Hanhnenmaske.
1973.
Private collection Rebecca Horn.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Photographer Christian von Alvensleben, Hamburg.
Courtesy of Rebecca Horn Rebecca Horn.
Pencil Mask, Bleistiftmaske.
1972.
Private collection Rebecca Horn.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Photographer Filmstill.
Courtesy of Rebecca Horn Rebecca Horn.
Mit zwei Händen gleichzeitig die Haare schneiden.
1975.
Private collection Rebecca Horn.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Filmstill.
Courtesy of Rebecca Horn Rebecca Horn.
Mit beiden Händen gleichzeitig die Wände berühren.
1975.
Private collection Rebecca Horn.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Filmstill.
Courtesy of Rebecca Horn Rebecca Horn.
Buster's Bedroom.
1990.
Private collection Rebecca Horn.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Filmstill.
Courtesy of Rebecca Horn Rebecca Horn.
Buster's Bedroom.
1990.
Private collection Rebecca Horn.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Filmstill.
Courtesy of Rebecca Horn Rebecca Horn.
The Feathered Prison Fan.
1978.
Private collection Rebecca Horn.
© Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst.
Filmstill.
Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn. The Raven Tree, Der Rabenbaum. 2009-2011. Private collection. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Photographer Heinz Hefele. Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn. Time goes by. 1990-1991. Credit IFA Stuttgart. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Photographer Atillio Maranzano. Courtesy of collection IFA Stuttgart

Rebecca Horn. Die Malmaschine, The Paintingmachine. 1991. Private collection. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Photographer Attilio Maranzano. Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn. Großes Federrad, Large Feather Wheel. 1997. Credit IFA Stuttgart. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Courtesy of collection IFA Stuttgart

Rebecca Horn. Der Sonnenseufzer. 2006. Private collection. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Photographer Ed Restle. Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn. Cock Mask, Hanhnenmaske. 1973. Private collection Rebecca Horn. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Photographer Christian von Alvensleben, Hamburg. Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn. Pencil Mask, Bleistiftmaske. 1972. Private collection Rebecca Horn. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Photographer Filmstill. Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn. Mit zwei Händen gleichzeitig die Haare schneiden. 1975. Private collection Rebecca Horn. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Filmstill. Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn. Mit beiden Händen gleichzeitig die Wände berühren. 1975. Private collection Rebecca Horn. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Filmstill. Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn. Buster's Bedroom. 1990. Private collection Rebecca Horn. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Filmstill. Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn. Buster's Bedroom. 1990. Private collection Rebecca Horn. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Filmstill. Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Rebecca Horn. The Feathered Prison Fan. 1978. Private collection Rebecca Horn. © Rebecca Horn, VG Bild Kunst. Filmstill. Courtesy of Rebecca Horn

Москва, 15.V.2013—14.VII.2013

выставка завершилась

Поделиться с друзьями

МАММ представляет первую в России персональную выставку знаменитой немецкой художницы Ребекки Хорн. В экспозиции представлено около 35 произведений, среди которых — кинетические объекты, документация ранних перформансов, фильмы и инсталляции. В число последних входят: «Время идет» (Time Goes By; 1990–1991), «Живописная машина» (Paintingmachine; 1991), «Изломанный ландшафт» (Broken Landscape, 1997), «Cinéma Vèritè» (2005), «Дерево-вóрон» (Der Rabenbaum, 2009–2011) и «Блуждающие огни» (Irrlichter, 2012). Также специально для МАММ художница подготовила новую кинетическую инсталляцию «Чемодан беглеца» (Der Fluchtkoffer, 2013).

МАММ представляет первую в России персональную выставку знаменитой немецкой художницы Ребекки Хорн. В экспозиции представлено около 35 произведений, среди которых — кинетические объекты, документация ранних перформансов, фильмы и инсталляции. В число последних входят: «Время идет» (Time Goes By; 1990–1991), «Живописная машина» (Paintingmachine; 1991), «Изломанный ландшафт» (Broken Landscape, 1997), «Cinéma Vèritè» (2005), «Дерево-вóрон» (Der Rabenbaum, 2009–2011) и «Блуждающие огни» (Irrlichter, 2012). Также специально для МАММ художница подготовила новую кинетическую инсталляцию «Чемодан беглеца» (Der Fluchtkoffer, 2013).

Свернуть

Видео

Фото с вернисажа

Ребекка Хорн Ольга Свиблова, Ребекка Хорн Анна Зайцева и Ольга Свиблова Хейден Чисхольм Татьяна Арзамасова Юрий Аввакумов Александра Вертинская Андрей Бартенев Олег Доу и Антон Белов Александр Пономарев, Сергей Бурасовский и Владислав Флярковский Рут Цюблин (JTI) и Ольга Свиблова Виктор Ерофеев Ник Ильин Варвара Ремчукова Влад Лисовец Ирина Манн Ребекка Хорн и Павел Лунгин Василий Церетели

Каталог выставки

М., 2013. – 228 с.: ил. 20x25 см.
ISBN 978-5-93977-069-9
RUR 1200

О выставке

Ребекка Хорн (1944) — классик современного искусства. Первые уроки рисования ей дала гувернантка, а профессиональное образование она получила в Гамбургской высшей школе изобразительного искусства. В 1971 году Ребекка Хорн проходит стажировку в лондонском Художественном колледже Св. Мартина, потом несколько лет проводит в Нью-Йорке (1972–1981). Ребекка Хорн несколько раз становилась участницей важнейшей периодической выставки современного искусства — кассельской «Документы» (1972, куратор Харальд Зееманн; 1977, куратор Манфред Шнекенбургер; 1982, куратор Руди Фукс; 1992, куратор Ян Хут).

Основная тема творчества Ребекки Хорн — это поиск расширенных форм самовосприятия, размышления о границах человеческого тела, о сложном взаимоотношении одушевленного / неодушевленного и о том, как человек коммуницирует с окружающим миром. Эти темы были предметом пристального внимания постминималистского искусства по обе стороны Атлантики, и в этом отношении работы Хорн близки фильмам Брюса Наумана и перформансам Вито Аккончи.

В возрасте 20 лет Ребекка Хорн серьезно заболела и около года провела в госпитале. Ее первые «телесные скульптуры» восходят именно к этому периоду (между декабрем 1968 и июнем 1969 года), а перформансы, в которых они используются («Перформансы 1 и 2»), демонстрируют нам, как тело преодолевает собственные границы, как болезнь и боль сменяются покоем и чувством защищенности. В известном смысле, Ребекке Хорн предстояло заново выстроить коммуникацию с внешним миром и заново открыть его для себя. «В таких работах, как „Балансир для головы“, „Черные рога“, „Продолжение головы“ и „Белое тело-опахало“ мы наблюдаем почти алхимическое преображение тела: дополненное рогами, перьями и крыльями, оно превращается в тело мифологического существа» (Серджо Эдельштейн).

Опыт пребывания в замкнутом пространстве нашел свое отражение в дальнейшем творчестве Хорн: характерно, что действие ее более поздних полнометражных фильмов, которые будут показаны на выставке («Партнер для танцев», «Спальня Бастера»), разворачивается именно в изолированных пространствах.

Важно отметить, что вещи являются такими же героями творчества Хорн, как и люди: одушевленное и неодушевленное сосуществует в ее работах на равных, вступая в различные взаимоотношения. Механизмы, которые она конструирует («Изломанный ландшафт», «Солнечный воздыхатель»), наделяются эмоциями и одушевляются. В своих фильмах, скульптурах и инсталляциях — которые теснейшим образом между собой связаны — Хорн предлагает новое толкование концепции реди-мейда, дополняя ее анимистическими элементами и в этом отношении демонстрируя бо́льшую близость к спиритуалистическим ритуалам, чем к концептуальному искусству. Это объясняет помимо прочего, почему найденные объекты или объекты, которым придается новая функция, играют столь существенную роль в ее творчестве.

«Человеческие» персонажи Хорн, напротив, впадают в автоматизм и уподобляются машинам. Не случайно одной из главных референтных фигур для Хорн на протяжении многих лет оставался Бастер Китон — легендарный комик с застывшей на лице маской невозмутимости. С его именем непосредственно связаны фильм «Спальня Бастера» и инсталляция «Время идет». Но при этом уязвимость героев Хорн столько велика, что они вынуждены прятаться в защитные перьевые коконы, скрываться за масками, в тюрьмах и убежищах, облачаться в смирительные рубашки. Только так и произведения Хорн, и ее персонажи могут обрести свободу.

Произведения Ребекки Хорн во многом опережают время, благодаря чему каждая ее выставка становится запоминающимся событием.

К выставке в МАММ будет приурочено издание книги о Ребекке Хорн с текстами Дорис фон Дратен, Мартина Мозебаха, Карла Хенляйна и Серджо Эдельштейна, а также стихотворениями Ребекки Хорн, которые впервые переведены на русский язык известным переводчиком и лауреатом Премии Андрея Белого (2010) Алёшей Прокопьевым.

Работы Ребекки Хорн находятся в собраниях Музея Соломона Р. Гуггенхайма, Нью-Йорк, Музея современного искусства, Нью-Йорк, Музея современного искусства в Лос-Анджелесе, Музея современного искусства в Сан-Франциско, США; Художественной галерее Нового Южного Уэльса, Австралия; Кастелло ди Риволи, Турин, Италия; Галереи Тейт, Лондон, Великобритания; Центра Жоржа Помпиду, Париж, Франция; Центра искусств и медиатехнологий, Карлсруэ, Германия; Городского Музея Ван Аббе в Эйндховене, Нидерланды и многих других.

15 мая в 19:00 в Мультимедиа Арт Музее (ул. Остоженка, 16) состоится открытый мастер-класс Ребекки Хорн.
Предварительная регистрация — mk@mdf.ru.

В рамках

Год Россия-Германия 2012/13

В сотрудничестве с

Гёте-Институт в Москве IFA
 

Генеральный партнер выставки

JTI

Информационный партнер

ELLE

Hediard

Стратегический информационный партнер

Арт Хроника

Генеральный информационный партнер

TimeOut

Информационные партнеры

Первый канал Fashion Collection Коммерсант FM The Art Newspaper Russia Winzavod art review Courrier de Russie be in Foto-Video Диалог Искусств Арт-Гид

Будьте в курсе последних событий музея и наших открытий

© Мультимедийный комплекс актуальных искусств, Москва

Все права защищены, 1997—2016.