RussianEnglish

Utopia and Reality? El Lissitzky, Ilya and Emilia Kabakov

Moscow, 17.IX.2013—17.XI.2013

exhibition is over

Share with friends

Curators: Charles Esche (Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven), Olga Sviblova (Multimedia Art Museum, Moscow)

Curators: Charles Esche (Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven), Olga Sviblova (Multimedia Art Museum, Moscow)

Close

Video

Opening day photos

Emilia and Ilya Kabakov Yuri Rost, Emilia and Ilya Kabakov Zurab Tsereteli Mark Garber Andrey and Irina Uspensky Ольга Свиблова и Гриша Брускин Veronika Borovik-Hilchevskaya Vasiliy Tsereteli and Kira Sacarello Iveta and Tamaz Manasherov Alexander and Marina Dobrovinskiy Anton Belov Svetlana Konegen Maria Burasovskaya and Boris Mintz Nick Ilyin, Alexander Ponomarev and Pavel Lungin Aliona Doletskaya Leonid Ogarev and Miranda Mirianashvili Nick Ilyin and Yan Yanovskiy Ilya Kabakov and Aliona Doletskaya Regina von Flemming and Vadim Vernik Natalia Lebedeva and Joseph Backstein Oga Sorokina, Andrey Strukov and Daria Veledeeva Alex Lachmann and Olga Sviblova Svetlana Marich and Sofia Troztenko

For mass-media

The exhibition «Utopia and Reality? El Lissitzky, Ilya and Emilia Kabakov» at Moscow’s Multimedia Art Museum is timed to coincide with Ilya Kabakov’s 80th birthday and organised by MAMM in collaboration with the Van Abbemuseum (Eindhoven) and the State Hermitage Museum (St. Petersburg).

El Lissitzky (1890-1941), one of the most important figures of the Russian avant-garde, was an artist, architect, book illustrator, photographer, exhibition designer and theoretician of the new art. The Van Abbemuseum houses the largest collection of El Lissitzky’s works outside Russia. That is why it initiated this joint exhibition of works by El Lissitzky and Ilya and Emilia Kabakov, developing the initial concept of the project in close cooperation with the Kabakovs. The exhibition in Moscow has been significantly expanded and, in particular, presents artworks by the Kabakovs that have never before been shown to wider audiences in Russia.

In many respects El Lissitzky, on the one hand, and Ilya and Emilia Kabakov, on the other, are opposites in terms of the artists’ aesthetic and ideological principles.

El Lissitzky entered the history of Russian and world culture as the developer of a new plastic language compliant with the post-revolutionary Russian ambitions to reconstruct human life, and with the utopian aspirations of that time in a broader context. In our perception his name is directly linked to the early stage of the Soviet utopian project, to the idea of a «new language for the new people», an idea of design as the instrument with which all mankind could be transformed.

But in the words of Ilya Kabakov, «in any creative concept there are three components: the plan, the attempt at its realisation and the finished product. It should be said that the person involved at the beginning, the planner, has no idea what will happen midway through the process, or how it will end.»

The passage of time has revealed that Lissitzky’s Prouns corresponded aesthetically to the tendencies of world modernism and actually became an absolute model, a fundamental basis for an international language of design. But can we say that Lissitzky, who from the very beginning worked in the material world, creating «imaginary space by means of material objects,» was an artist of utopian aspirations? And most importantly, can the initial characteristics be preserved in a realised utopia?

One can say that the Kabakovs lived in the realised Soviet utopia that was propagandised by Lissitzky, among others. The Communist project began to turn into its antithesis even during Lissitzky’s lifetime, when the authoritarian, anti-humanitarian element of the avant-garde project to invent a new man-creator became increasingly evident.

Back then Lissitzky wrote with enthusiasm: «Our generation has set itself the aim of working precisely in accordance with commission. But practice has shown that the work of true artistic worth can be created only when the artist sets out his own objective (the eternal social commission)». But Lissitzky himself, according to Kabakov, managed to participate «in the middle movement of the symphony, when he seemed like a small screw in the machine, as a specialist implementing the will of the Party and its leader.»

The Kabakovs belong to the generation of artists who lived and worked in, «as it seemed then, time that had stopped forever, and there existed a thoroughly (as it turned out, terminally) crafted Soviet language of official Soviet art.» They became witnesses of the humanitarian catastrophe that the radiant utopian project became during the attempt at its implementation. Accordingly, these artists have an entirely different vision, a different attitude both to the Soviet utopia in principle and to the ideology of the Russian avant-garde, which they can assess from a historical distance. The exhibition develops as a system of oppositions, as a direct spatial comparison between the works of Lissitzky and Ilya and Emilia Kabakov: «The Cosmos — Voices in the Void,» «Clarity of Forms — Garbage,» «Victory over the Everyday — Everyday’s Victory,» «Monument to a Leader — Monument to a Tyrant,» «Transforming Life — Escaping Life,» «Trust in the New World — Unrealized Utopia,» «The Artist as a Reformer — The Artist as a Reflecting Character.»

This exhibition is particularly apt today when we strive yet again to find some kind of utopian project modality. The global crisis that the world faced at the beginning of the 20th century made us return to the search for a new utopia. The exhibition «Utopia and Reality?» is devoted to humanity’s craving for utopian projects and the tragic results to which attempting to implement them usually leads.

We would like to express deep gratitude to all the institutions and collectors that have lent artworks for the exhibition: Van Abbemuseum, Musée National d’Art Moderne / Centre Georges Pompidou, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, State Hermitage Museum, State Tretyakov Gallery, A.A. Bakhrushin State Central Theatre Museum, Russian State Archive of Literature and Art, Harmony Trust Settlement, Tsukanov Family Foundation, Galleria Continua, Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac, Regina Gallery, Erna Jolles, Hein van Laarhoven, Sergey Lissitzky and Vladimir Tsarenkov.

Nederland - Rusland 2013
Special guest of 5th Moscow Biennale of contemporary art

In collaboration with

Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven

With the support of the Embassy of the Netherlands in Russia

Embassy of the Netherlands in Russia


General information partner

TimeOut

Information partners

1st Channel RBC daily Fashion Collection Kommersnat FM The Art Newspaper Russia

Courrier de Russie Winzavod art review Foto.ru be in Foto-Video Iskusstvo Magazine

DI Арт-Гид 13.03.12

© Multimedia Complex of Actual Arts, Moscow

All rights reserved, 1997—2014. Credits

RussianEnglish

Утопия и реальность? Эль Лисицкий, Илья и Эмилия Кабаковы

Москва, 17.IX.2013—17.XI.2013

выставка завершилась

Поделиться с друзьями

Кураторы: Чарльз Эше (Музей Ван Аббе, Эйндховен), Ольга Свиблова (Мультимедиа Арт Музей, Москва)

Кураторы: Чарльз Эше (Музей Ван Аббе, Эйндховен), Ольга Свиблова (Мультимедиа Арт Музей, Москва)

Свернуть

Видео

Ольга Свиблова о выставке.
(14:03)
Илья и Эмилия Кабаковы.
Размышления об искусстве.
(31:57)

Фото с вернисажа

Эмилия и Илья Кабаковы Юрий Рост, Ольга Свиблова, Эмилия и Илья Кабаковы Зураб Церетели Марк Гарбер Андрей и Ирина Успенские Ольга Свиблова и Гриша Брускин Вероника Боровик-Хильчевская Василий Церетели и Кира Сакарелло Ивета и Тамаз Манашеровы Александр и Марина Добровинские Антон Белов Светлана Конеген Мария Бурасовская и Борис Минц Ник Ильин, Александр Пономарев и Павел Лунгин Алена Долецкая Леонид Огарев и Миранда Мирианашвили Ник Ильин и Ян Яновский Илья Кабаков и Алена Долецкая Регина фон Флемминг и Вадим Верник Наталья Лебедева и Иосиф Бакштейн Ольга Сорокина, Андрей Струков и Дарья Веледеева Алекс Лахман и Ольга Свиблова Светлана Марич и Софья Троценко

О выставке

Выставка «Утопия и реальность? Эль Лисицкий, Илья и Эмилия Кабаковы» приурочена к 80-летию Ильи Кабакова и подготовлена МАММ в сотрудничестве с музеем Ван Аббе (Эйндховен) и Государственным Эрмитажем.

Эль Лисицкий (1890-1941) — один из величайших мастеров русского авангарда, художник, архитектор, книжный график, фотограф, экспозиционер и теоретик нового искусства. Крупнейшее собрание произведений Лисицкого за пределами России находится в Музее Ван Аббе. Именно этот музей выступил инициатором создания совместной выставки Эль Лисицкого и Ильи и Эмилии Кабаковых, а также разработал первоначальную концепцию этого проекта в тесном сотрудничестве с Кабаковыми. Выставка в Москве, однако, будет существенно расширена и, в частности, представит работы Кабаковых, которые ранее никогда не показывались широкой российской аудитории.

Эль Лисицкий, с одной стороны, и Илья и Эмилия Кабаковы, с другой, — художники во многом противоположные по своим эстетическим и мировоззренческим принципам.

Эль Лисицкий вошел в историю русской и мировой культуры как разработчик нового пластического языка, удовлетворяющего жизнестроительным амбициям послереволюционной России и утопическим устремлениям того времени в целом. В нашем представлении его имя прочно связано с ранней стадией советского утопического проекта, с идеей «нового языка для новых людей», с идеей дизайна как инструмента для преобразования всего человечества.

Однако, цитируя Илью Кабакова, «в любом креативном замысле есть три части: проект, попытка реализации и конечный продукт. Надо сказать, что тот, кто стоит в начале пути, — проектант — совершенно не знает, что будет в середине пути и чем это закончится».

Как показало время, проуны Лисицкого, эстетически совпав с тенденциями мирового модернизма, действительно стали некой абсолютной моделью, основой интернационального языка дизайна. Но можем ли мы говорить о том, что Лисицкий, который изначально работал именно в предметном мире, создавая «воображаемое пространство посредством материальных предметов», был художником утопических устремлений? И, главное, способны ли в реализованной утопии сохраниться ее первоначальные черты?

Можно сказать, что Кабаковым довелось жить в той реализованной советской утопии, пропагандистом которой, среди прочих, был и Лисицкий. Коммунистический проект начал оборачиваться своей противоположностью еще при жизни Лисицкого, когда все очевиднее становился авторитарный, антигуманистический элемент, заложенный в самом авангардном проекте создания нового человека-творца.

В свое время Лисицкий с энтузиазмом писал: «Наше поколение поставило себе цель работать в строгом соответствии с поставленной задачей. Но практика показала, что работа истинной художественной ценности может быть создана лишь тогда, когда художник ставит перед собой собственную художественную цель (бесконечный социальный заказ)». Но уже самому Лисицкому, по словам Кабакова, довелось участвовать «во второй части симфонии, когда он оказался маленьким винтиком в качестве „спеца“, выполняя волю вождя и партии».

Кабаковы принадлежат к поколению художников, которые жили и работали в, «как тогда казалось, навсегда остановившееся время, и существовал совершенно сформировавшийся (окончательно, как мы считали) советский язык официального советского искусства». Они стали свидетелями гуманитарной катастрофы, которой обернулся лучезарный утопический проект при попытке его реализации. Соответственно, у этих художников совершенно иная оптика, иное отношение и к советской утопии в принципе, и к идеологии русского авангарда, который они оценивают с исторической дистанции. Экспозиция выставки разворачивается именно как система оппозиций, как прямое пространственное противопоставление работ Лисицкого и Ильи и Эмилии Кабаковых: «Космос — Голоса в пустоте», «Чистота форм — Мусор», «Победа над бытом — Быт победил», «Памятник Лидеру — Памятник Тирану», «Трансформируя жизнь — Бегство от жизни», «Вера в реализацию будущего — Нереализованная утопия», «Художник как реформатор — Художник как рефлектирующий персонаж».

Для нас эта выставка особенно актуальна потому, что сегодня мы опять мучительно пытаемся найти некую утопическую, проектную модальность. Глобальный кризис, с которым мир столкнулся в начале XXI века, возвращает нас к поискам новой большой утопии. Выставка «Утопия и реальность?» проблематизирует вечную тягу человеческой цивилизации к утопическому проектированию и трагические результаты, которыми заканчиваются попытки практического воплощения утопии.

Мы выражаем благодарность всем институциям и коллекционерам, предоставившим экспонаты для выставки: Музею Ван Аббе, Национальному музею современного искусства / Центру Жоржа Помпиду, Музею Соломона Гуггенхайма, Государственному Эрмитажу, Государственной Третьяковской галерее, Государственному театральному музею им. А. Бахрушина, Российскому государственному архиву литературы и искусства, The Harmony Trust Settlement, Tsukanov Family Foundation, Galleria Continua, Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac, галерее «Риджина», Эрне Йоллес, Хейну ван Лаарховену, Сергею Лисицкому и Владимиру Царенкову.

Год Россия – Нидерланды 2013
Специальный гость 5-й Московской биеннале современного искусства

В сотрудничестве

Музей Ван Аббе, Эйндховен

При поддержке Посольства Нидерландов в России

Посольство Нидерландов в России


Генеральный информационный партнер

TimeOut

Информационные партнеры

Первый канал РБК daily Fashion Collection Коммерсант FM The Art Newspaper Russia

Courrier de Russie Winzavod art review Foto.ru 13.03.12 be in Foto-Video Искусство. Издается с 1933 года

Диалог Искусств Арт-Гид

Будьте в курсе последних событий музея и наших открытий

© Мультимедийный комплекс актуальных искусств, Москва

Все права защищены, 1997—2016. О проекте