MULTIMEDIA ART MUSEUM, MOSCOW
MUSEUM "MOSCOW HOUSE OF PHOTOGRAPHY"
Ru

Martial Cherrier
Body Disaster

Martial Cherrier.
From the series “Body disaster”, 2011.
© Martial Cherrier Martial Cherrier.
From the series “Body disaster”, 2011.
© Martial Cherrier Martial Cherrier.
From the series “Body disaster”, 2011.
© Martial Cherrier Martial Cherrier.
From the series “Body disaster”, 2011.
© Martial Cherrier

Martial Cherrier. From the series “Body disaster”, 2011. © Martial Cherrier

Martial Cherrier. From the series “Body disaster”, 2011. © Martial Cherrier

Martial Cherrier. From the series “Body disaster”, 2011. © Martial Cherrier

Martial Cherrier. From the series “Body disaster”, 2011. © Martial Cherrier

Moscow, 12.04.2014—18.05.2014

exhibition is over

Ekaterina Cultural Foundation

21/5 Kuznetsky Most, porch 8, entrance from Bolshaya Lubyanka street (show map)
opening hours: 11:00 - 20:00, day off - Monday.
Tel: +7 (495) 621-55-22

Share with friends

For mass-media

Martial Cherrier cannot be described as merely a photographer, artist or video artist, although in one way or another he employs all these art forms in his work. He is a sculptor who utilizes his own body as the basic material for his oeuvres.

In the early 90s Martial Cherrier took up bodybuilding to develop his body, and in due course people called him a living sculpture. Almost entirely remodelled, his body brings to mind the works of Michelangelo, or the superheroes in children’s comics. This body became the object of Cherrier’s creativity, a means to convey his ideas to the wider public. In this way Martial Cherrier is simultaneously the subject, object and depictive medium of his art. By self-exhibition Cherrier demonstrates how the creation of an ideal body is actually an excruciating struggle to conform to certain standards. Acceptance in modern society denotes complying with parameters pre-established by advertising.

‘Body Disaster’ is a series of photographic self-portraits taken at Venice Beach, Los Angeles, in 1994, the year Cherrier won his first bodybuilding title. For fifteen years they were stored in his father’s Normandy cellar, emerging in very poor condition. They were then scanned by the artist and reprinted in enlarged format with the title ‘Body Disaster’. Art critic and photo historian Dominique Baqué writes: ‘These images spell the end of the Californian dream and refer to Ancient Greek or Roman frescoes’.

The second Cherrier project on display was specially produced for the Photobiennale 2014. In his composition entitled ‘Blue White Red 2014’ Cherrier plays with symbols, evoking the colours of the French Republic.

Project presented by European House of Photography, Paris

Maison Européenne de la Photographie

With the support of

Embassy of France L’Institut Français


General information partner

Elle

Strategic information partner

Profile magazine

Information partners

1st Channel Kommersnat FM The Art Newspaper Russia Buro 24/7 Iskusstvo Magazine Foto-Video DI
L’Oeil de la Photographie

Official guide of the "Photobiennale 2014"

Арт-Гид

RussianEnglish

Марсьяль Шеррье
Катастрофа тела

Марсьяль Шеррье.
Из серии «Крушение тела», 2011.
© Martial Cherrier Марсьяль Шеррье.
Из серии «Крушение тела», 2011.
© Martial Cherrier Марсьяль Шеррье.
Из серии «Крушение тела», 2011.
© Martial Cherrier Марсьяль Шеррье.
Из серии «Крушение тела», 2011.
© Martial Cherrier

Марсьяль Шеррье. Из серии «Крушение тела», 2011. © Martial Cherrier

Марсьяль Шеррье. Из серии «Крушение тела», 2011. © Martial Cherrier

Марсьяль Шеррье. Из серии «Крушение тела», 2011. © Martial Cherrier

Марсьяль Шеррье. Из серии «Крушение тела», 2011. © Martial Cherrier

Москва, 12.IV.2014—18.V.2014

выставка завершилась

Фонд культуры «Екатерина»

Ул. Кузнецкий мост, д. 21/5, подъезд №8, вход с улицы Большая Лубянка (карта проезда)
время работы: 11:00 - 20:00, выходной день - понедельник.
Телефон: + 7 (495) 621-55-22

Поделиться с друзьями

Каталог выставки

Десятый Международный месяц фотографии в Москве: Каталог.
М., 2014. – 256 с., 23х30 см
ISBN 978-5-93977-073-6
RUR 550

О выставке

Марсьяля Шеррье нельзя назвать просто фотографом или художником или видеохудожником, в своем творчестве, так или иначе, он соприкасается со всеми этими видами искусства. Он — скульптор, и в качестве исходного материала для своих творений использует собственное тело.

В начале 90-х годов Марсиаль Шеррье занимался бодибилдингом, что и позволило ему со временем называться живой скульптурой. Его тело, почти полностью слепленное заново, заставляет нас вспомнить произведения Микеланджело или супергероев из детских комиксов. Именно это тело и является объектом творчества Шеррье, с помощью которого он доносит идеи до широкой публики. Таким образом, Марсиаль Шеррье одновременно является и субъектом, и объектом, и изобразительным средством своего творчества. Выставляя себя напоказ, Шеррье хочет привлечь внимание к тому, что создание идеального тела — это мучительная борьба за соответствие стандартам. Быть принятым в современном обществе — значит соответствовать параметрам, установленным рекламой.

«Катастрофа тела» — это серия автопортретов художника, сделанных в 1994 году на лосанджелесском Венис-бич, в тот самый год, когда Шеррье завоевал свой первый титул в бодибилдинге. В течение пятнадцати лет эти фотографии хранились в погребе отца художника, в Нормандии и в результате пришли в крайне плачевное состояние. Потом они были отсканированы художником и напечатаны заново в увеличенном формате, получив название «Крушение тела». Арт-критик и историк фотографии Доминика Баке писал о них: «В этих работах ощущается конец калифорнийской мечты. Есть в них что-то от древнегреческих и древнеримских фресок».

Второй проект Шеррье, представленный в Фонде культуры «Екатерина», сделан специально для «Фотобиеннале 2014». Он называется «Синий белый красный 2014», и в нем Шеррье, играя с символами, отсылает нас к цветам Французской республики.

Проект представлен Европейским Домом фотографии, Париж

Европейский Дом фотографии

При поддержке

Посольство Франции L’Institut Français


Генеральный информационный партнер

Elle

Стратегический информационный партнер

Журнал «Профиль»

Информационные партнеры

Первый канал Коммерсант FM The Art Newspaper Russia Buro 24/7 Искусство. Издается с 1933 года Foto-Video Диалог Искусств
L’Oeil de la Photographie

Официальный путеводитель «Фотобиеннале 2014»

Арт-Гид

© Мультимедийный комплекс актуальных искусств, Москва

Все права защищены, 1997—2017.