Vladimir Glynin
Re-Constructivism

Vladimir Glynin.
“Re-Constructivism”.
2010.
Author’s collection Vladimir Glynin.
“Re-Constructivism”.
2010.
Author’s collection Vladimir Glynin.
“Re-Constructivism”.
2010.
Author’s collection Vladimir Glynin.
“Re-Constructivism”.
2010.
Author’s collection Vladimir Glynin.
“Re-Constructivism”.
2010.
Author’s collection Vladimir Glynin.
“Re-Constructivism”.
2010.
Author’s collection

Vladimir Glynin. “Re-Constructivism”. 2010. Author’s collection

Vladimir Glynin. “Re-Constructivism”. 2010. Author’s collection

Vladimir Glynin. “Re-Constructivism”. 2010. Author’s collection

Vladimir Glynin. “Re-Constructivism”. 2010. Author’s collection

Vladimir Glynin. “Re-Constructivism”. 2010. Author’s collection

Vladimir Glynin. “Re-Constructivism”. 2010. Author’s collection

Moscow, 23.III.2013—12.V.2013

exhibition is over

Zourab Tsereteli Gallery of Fine-Arts

19, Prechistenka street (show map)
opening hours: 12:00 - 20:00, Friday 12:00 - 22:00, Sunday 12:00 - 19:00, day off - Monday.
Tel: + 7 (495) 637-25-69

Share with friends

Video

Opening day photos

Vladimir Glynin, Tatyana Butenko and Nina Levitina Ilona Stolie, Vladimir Glynin and Ekaterina Odintsova Vasiliy Tsereteli and Olga Sviblova Vladimir Glynin Vladimir Glynin, Olga Sviblova and Vasiliy Tsereteli Grigoriy Yaroshenko Serge Golovach Ida Lolo Elena Zaharova and Elena Kozireva

For mass-media

Constructivism is a Soviet Avant-Garde movement in the visual art of the 1920s that involved architecture, photography, clothes. Photographer Vladimir Glynin shot his Reconstructivism (2011) project appealing to a well-known ironic style. «Re» as a prefix, grammar tells us, means either a «repeated, renewable, reproducible act» or «an act opposite in its meaning to the basic part of the word.»

It is meaningless to «oppose» Constructivism. It is our recognized great heritage. We are left with reproduction as a result, we have a Post-Modernist trick here — quite an exquisite one, I must say. Avant-Garde, just as icon-painting, has absolutely turned into «art for export» today. It is tempting to work with such exemplary visual models, but few people are successful in it. Kazimir Malevich was successful, he interpreted the methods of icon-painting in many ways (Glynin claims, by the way, that this Russian Avant-Garde artist is his idol). The Reconstructivism series is also a success.

The main theme here is the subject, the dance. Seagull, a 2002 ballet performance staged by John Neumeier who adapted the Chekhov play for ballet. The Soul of the Seagull is in the «Constructivist» dance in the costumes resembling «prozodezhda» — industrial clothes of L. Popova, A. Rodchenko, V. Stepanova. Glynin took the costumes of this performance for his project. Futurism, Suprematism, Cubism, and other innovative movements of the 1910s had tremendous impact on the development of Constructivism, but its socially determined base was in the «industrial art» with its direct appeal to the Soviet reality of the first five-year plans. The use of the «Russian red» as the dominant, «beautiful» and «revolutionary» color simultaneously is characteristic for Modernist aesthetics. And the embodiment of Treplev may remind an informed viewer of the Soviet Kinetic Art and the Movement group which emerged in the 1960s. Kinetic Art reconstructed the pioneering work of Constructivists and the Suprematism of Malevich in many ways.

Dance is always associated with movement, but this is not an axiom for Glynin. The subject of «movement», by the way, is also linked to the quest for plasticity in the photography of the 1920s. The members of the Photo Office created at the State Academy of Aesthetical Arts — Yuri Yeremin, Nikolay Svishov-Paola, Aleksey Sidorov, Alexander Grinberg — initiated a large project titled The Art of Movement then. Four exhibitions under the same title summed up many years of their work. Looking through the lens of the camera, the photographer tried to explore the plasticity and the laws of dancing, revealing its dynamic on the two-dimensional plane of a snapshot, creating the image of movement. The Swan Lake, Ballet Dancers and Ballets by Glynin are the cycles of photographs devoted to the classical ballet, which still has a place for movement. Dancers are static, «re-dynamic» in Reconstructivism — in the negative sense of the prefix. Their figures are more like a decorative ornament. They seem to be frozen in their fancy dress, rebelling against the swift flow of time. Entangled bodies constructing plastic compositions are intricate, but always logical. Volumes are hardly traceable, depictions resemble a drawing, a stage set, or even a poster, with its dry and concrete language. The photographer has practically killed the flesh, making the bodies weightless, unerotic, almost lifeless.

A whitish body on white paper has «struck» the viewer on the Polaroid snapshots of Paolo Roversi (1980), an Italian fashion photographer, for the first time. Yet, this approach is not really important for Glynin. Vladimir Glynin, an aesthete and an experimentalist, passed the road from exquisite «picturesque» images of ballet dancers to acute and dynamic, almost Constructivist photography series. A skilful master of various printing methods bringing photography closer to the media of graphic art, he comes to the conclusion that artistic photography can be expressive when it becomes decorative. His refined rhythmic contrasting constructions are far from the Soviet reality of Constructivism demanding comprehensibility and intended to educate, agitate and guide. Frontal compositions of Glynin reveal an inclination for a simple graphic structure rich in rhythmic repetitions, and sometimes unexpected clashes of colors, hues and lines.

Reconstruction as the method of author’s statement is familiar in the modern artistic space, especially in photography, for photography reconstructs memory. But Glynin’s Reconstructivism reconstructed the great heritage of the past. A double negation always has the effect of confirmation. So the quest is not a waste of time and effort.

Olga Averyanova,
Head of the Photography Art Department at The Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts

Strategic information partner

Art Chronika

General information partner

TimeOut

Information partners

1st Channel Fashion Collection Buro 24/7 Kommersnat FM The Art Newspaper Russia Winzavod art review Courrier de Russie Photosight be in Foto-Video DI

Official guide of the "Fashion and Style in Photography - 2013"

Арт-Гид 13.03.12

© Multimedia Complex of Actual Arts, Moscow

All rights reserved, 1997—2017. Credits

RussianEnglish

Владимир Глынин
Реконструктивизм

Владимир Глынин.
«Реконструктивизм».
2010 г.
Собрание автора Владимир Глынин.
«Реконструктивизм».
2010 г.
Собрание автора Владимир Глынин.
«Реконструктивизм».
2010 г.
Собрание автора Владимир Глынин.
«Реконструктивизм».
2010 г.
Собрание автора Владимир Глынин.
«Реконструктивизм».
2010 г.
Собрание автора Владимир Глынин.
«Реконструктивизм».
2010 г.
Собрание автора

Владимир Глынин. «Реконструктивизм». 2010 г. Собрание автора

Владимир Глынин. «Реконструктивизм». 2010 г. Собрание автора

Владимир Глынин. «Реконструктивизм». 2010 г. Собрание автора

Владимир Глынин. «Реконструктивизм». 2010 г. Собрание автора

Владимир Глынин. «Реконструктивизм». 2010 г. Собрание автора

Владимир Глынин. «Реконструктивизм». 2010 г. Собрание автора

Москва, 23.III.2013—12.V.2013

выставка завершилась

Галерея Искусств Зураба Церетели

Ул. Пречистенка, д. 19 (карта проезда)
время работы: вторник - бесплатное посещение, ср-чт, сб 12:00 - 20:00, пт 12:00 - 22:00, вс 12:00 - 19:00, выходной день - понедельник.
Телефон: +7 (495) 637-25-69

Поделиться с друзьями

Проект представлен Barbarian Art Gallery by Natasha Akhmerova, Цюрих

Проект представлен Barbarian Art Gallery by Natasha Akhmerova, Цюрих

Свернуть

Видео

Фото с вернисажа

Владимир Глынин, Татьяна Бутенко и Нина Левитина Илона Столье, Владимир Глынин и Екатерина Одинцова Василий Церетели и Ольга Свиблова Владимир Глынин Владимир Глынин, Ольга Свиблова и Василий Церетели Григорий Ярошенко Серж Головач Ида Лоло Елена Захарова и Елена Козырева

Каталог выставки

Восьмой Московский Международный фестиваль: Каталог.
М., 2013. – 256 с., 23,5х31 см.
ISBN 978-5-93977-069-9
RUR 750

О выставке

Конструктивизм — советское авангардистское направление в изобразительном искусстве 20-x г. ХХ в., архитектуре, фотографии, одежде. Фотограф Владимир Глынин снял свой проект «Реконструктивизм» (2011 г.) апеллируя к известному знаковому стилю. Приставка «ре», как известно из грамматики русского языка, означает либо «повторное, возобновляемое, воспроизводимое действие», либо «действие, противоположное тому, что выражено основной частью слова».

«Противодействовать» конструктивизму не имеет смысла. Это наше признаное великое наследие. Остается воспроизведение, а значит снова постмодернистский трюк, вполне, надо сказать, изысканный. Безусловно, авангард, как и иконопись, сегодня превратились в «экспортные» искусства. Поработать с этими образцовыми изобразительными моделями всегда соблазнительно, но получается не у всех. У Казмира Малевича получилось, он во многом интерпретировал приемы иконописи, кстати Глынин утверждает, что последний — его кумир. Серия «Реконструктивизм» получилась.

Прежде всего тема — тема танца. «Чайка» балетный спектакль 2002 г., в хореографии американца Джона Ноймаера, адаптировавшего известную чеховскую пьесу для балетной сцены. «Душа Чайки» — «конструктивистский» танец в костюмах, напоминающих «прозодежду» Л. Поповой, А. Родченко, В. Степановой. Из этой постановки Глынин и взял костюмы для своего проекта. Футуризм, супрематизм, кубизм, и другие новаторские течения 1910-х годов оказали огромное влияние на становление конструктивизма, однако социально обусловленной основой было именно «производственное искусство» с его непосредственным обращением к современным советским реалиям эпохи первых пятилеток. Приметой модернистской эстетики стало использование «русского красного» как доминантного, «красивого» и «революционного», одновременно. Постановка Треплева, вероятно, напомнит просвещенному зрителю о советском кинетическом искусстве и группе «Движение», появившейся в 60-х. Во многом кинетическое искусство реконструировало начинания конструктивистов, супрематизма Малевича.

Танец всегда связан с движением, но для Глынина это не аксиома. Тема «движения», между тем, сопряжена и с пластическими поисками фотографии 1920-х годов. Члены фото-кабинета, созданного Государственной Академией художественных наук, Юрий Еремин, Николай Свищов-Паола, Алексей Сидоров, Александр Гринберг тогда начали большой проект — «Искусство движения». Итогом их многолетней работы стали четыре одноимённые выставки. В то время фотограф через объектив камеры попытался исследовать пластику и законы танца, раскрыть на двухмерной плоскости моментального снимка динамику, создать образ движения. «Лебединое озеро», «Балерины» и «Балеты» Глынина — циклы фотографий на тему классического балета, где ещё осталось место динамике. Танцовщики из «Реконструктивизма» статичны, «рединамичны», в отрицательном значении приставки. Фигуры более походят на декоративный орнамент. Они как будто застыли в своих замысловатых нарядах, вопреки быстротекущему времени. Сплетение тел, выстраивающих пластические композиции, замысловато, но всегда логично. Объёмы едва уловимы, изображения напоминает рисунок, декорацию или даже плакат, язык которого сух и конкретен. Фотограф практически умертвил плоть, сделав тела невесомыми, неэротичными, почти неживыми. Белёсое тело на белой бумаге впервые прозвучало на снимках Polaroid итальянского фотографа моды Паоло Роверси (1980 г.). Но этот технический прием не столь важен для Глынина.

Эстет и экспериментатор Владимир Глынин, проделал путь от изысканных «живописных» изображений балерин, до острых и динамичных, почти конструктивистских фотографических серий. Виртуозно владея различными приемами печати, приближающими фотографию к графической технике, он приходит к выводу, что художественная фотография может быть выразительной став декоративной. Его рафинированные ритмические контрастные построения далеки от советских реалий конструктивизма, требующих доходчивой наглядности, призванной воспитывать, агитировать, учить или, наоборот, смело использующей острый ракурс, отдавая предпочтение особой «эпохальной» динамике. Фронтальные композиции Глынина тяготеют к несложной графической структуре, насыщенной ритмическими повторами, порой неожиданными столкновениями яркого с мягким созвучием красок, оттенков и линий.

Реконструкция как способ авторского высказывания стала привычной в современном художественном пространстве, фотографическом тем более, т. к. фотография реконструирует память. «Реконструктивизм» реконструировал великое наследие прошлого. Двойное отрицание всегда приобретает значение подтверждения. Следовательно, поиск не напрасен!

Ольга Аверьянова,
заведующая отделом искусства фотографии ГМИИ имени А. С. Пушкина

Стратегический информационный партнер

Арт Хроника

Генеральный информационный партнер

TimeOut

Информационные партнеры

Первый канал Fashion Collection Buro 24/7 Коммерсант FM The Art Newspaper Russia Winzavod art review Courrier de Russie Фото.сайт be in Foto-Video Диалог Искусств

Официальный путеводитель биеннале «Мода и стиль в фотографии - 2013»

Арт-Гид

© Мультимедийный комплекс актуальных искусств, Москва

Все права защищены, 1997—2017.